Should I get MB, rMBP13, or MBA13?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by darrenc95, Mar 10, 2015.

1. darrenc95, Mar 10, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015

darrenc95 macrumors newbie

I currently have a non-retina MBP that I plan on selling to a friend. So I am definitely getting a new MacBook very soon. I'm just not sure which one, though I have ruled out the MBA11 (it's basically an inferior version of the new MB) and the MBP15 (I'm not a power user)

My usage - I do simple things like web surfing, music via iTunes/Spotify, Netflix, some word processing for school. Nothing fancy. (My major will require me to take 1-2 video production courses, so I may need to do some editing. But my school has a computer lab with Mac desktops, so I can do much of my work on those if need be.) However, I spend a LOT of time on my computer - probably way too many hours a day.

As a student, I will take advantage of Apple's education pricing, so for everything I'm considering (with price boosts for RAM and storage where needed):

- 13-inch MacBook Air: $1,239 (save $60)
    - MacBook: $1,249 (save $50)
    - 13-inch MacBook Pro with Retina Display: $1,399 (save $100)

I am leaning very far away from the MBA since I can get a thinner computer with Retina display for $10 more, but I haven't totally ruled it out yet - mainly because of its 12-hour battery (9 and 10 hours aren't anything to scoff at, either...) and lower price. My biggest concern with the Air is that I don't want to buy a computer that will be severely outdated in a few years (like my current MBP), and it seems very likely that the new MacBook could eventually replace it.

My main concern with the new MacBook is the Intel M processor - as I said, I'm not a power user, but I use my computer frequently enough that the low specs are a concern. But my main concern about getting the rMBP is having too much power that will go unused, hence wasting a hundred dollars or so.

2. niji macrumors 6502a

niji