Should I get the 13" Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by jay1021, Nov 1, 2011.

1. jay1021 macrumors newbie

Hi!

I'm currently a college student, and I own the Mid-2009 13" Macbook Pro. It has a 2.53GHz Inter Core 2 Duo Processor, 4GB RAM, and a 250GB HD.

My current Mac is getting really old and crappy as the warranty has expired (trackpad stopped working, battery sucks, screen issues, etc.) so I'm thinking about getting a new one.

Should I get the new Macbook Air or the Pro?

My usage:
    -Safari web browsing
    -mail
    -Taking notes on Microsoft word
    -itunes
    -watching movies on netflix
    -powerpoint presentations
    ... and thats about it.

I take my laptop to class everyday so it would be nice to have a small, lightweight laptop like the Air. How is the battery life for the Air? Is it better than the Pro?

What do you think? What should I get?

2. 3dflyboy1 macrumors 6502

For everything EXCEPT netflix, the macbook air is perfect. Video streaming really kills the battery life of the macbook air, especially long HD movies from netflix. I think I got about 1.5hrs of netflix streaming from 100% charge.

Other than that, the macbook air is perfect. For iTunes, web browsing, notes, email, etc etc, nothing beats it. For simple web browsing, I currently have three tabs open, the screen at 4 bars brightness, the keyboard backlight at 1 notch, and have 5:31 remaining at 87% battery. (I have the 11")

For sheer portability, especially to and from college every day, I would recommend the 11", unless you need more screen space and/or more battery life than about 5hrs.

3. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

powerbook911

Your Mac is still competent. It's a shame about your hardware issues as it's still a good machine for your uses.

The 13-inch Air could work great for you. Like the above poster, I like the 11 in the air, BUT if it is your only computer and you do not use an external display while at a desk, I would get the 13 like you're thinking.