Should I get the Macbook Retina 12"?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by pmouritz, Oct 15, 2015.

1. pmouritz macrumors member

Hi all!

So currently I'm on my Macbook Pro 15" Retina medio 2012 with 16 GB RAM and 256 GB hard drive. I bought this back in 2012 while I was still gaming WoW and D3 but since then I've stopped gaming on my computer entirely. Now I'm using it for university and for work only. I'm an engineering student and I have completed all the advanced mathematics courses and such, so I won't be needing power for simulations in Maple, MatLab etc.. Al though it might occur that I have to use programs like these in the future on my masters but only for brief calculations.
    I don't use the power of my rMPB anymore since I'm mostly doing word processing, web browsing and at non-intensive tasks at my work as an IT consultant.
    Now I have the opportunity to sell my (beloved) rMPB which have made me very happy during the last 3.2 years and put the same money into a Macbook 12" 1.2 GHz and 512 GB hard drive. The reason why I'm considering this is to get a more portable laptop, better battery life and new warranty. My rMBP currently has 88% battery capacity and is doing about 6-7 hours with my usage.
    I can't seem to decide whether or not this is a good idea. I'll lose the larger screen and power but gain a lot more portability and hopefully more battery life (maybe also the opportunity to buy a battery pack). All the fuzz about the one port doesn't really bother me since I never use my ports. I would get the AV adapter to connect to an external monitor and keep it in my back at all times. I only use USB ports once or twice a year since Dropbox and Onedrive takes care of all my file transfer and my iCloud storage takes care of photos and such. Also I'm not doing any hardcore photo/video editing or any form of gaming.