Should I give up my job search?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by kwong2006, Aug 15, 2010.

1. kwong2006 macrumors regular

I graduated from a university this past May, and I've been looking for a job as a TV news reporter since then, to no avail.

I was wondering if this is a sign that I have been rejected by the professional community I have tried to get into, and if I should give up looking into this line of work, and go into something else.

Just to clear things up, I have never done anything that has ruined my reputation, nor do I have a criminal record (a parking ticket, yes, but I have never heard of a parking ticket ruining someone's career).

What should I do?

2. rhett7660 macrumors G4

rhett7660

What about looking for an "apprentice" type job in the news industry?

3. Tilpots macrumors 601

Tilpots

You need to start looking in small markets. There are tons of job openings for someone who can report and shoot video.

4. kwong2006 thread starter macrumors regular

I have applied to small markets. Believe me when I say I am not one of those people who wants to work in LA right after college :)

5. Tilpots macrumors 601

Tilpots

Is your reel any good, then? The jobs are there, you just have to make sure you're the best candidate for the position. If your reel isn't wowing the News Directors, you need to improve it. The News is the story you tell. Make sure you're the best storyteller out there.

6. kwong2006 thread starter macrumors regular

I had my reel looked at by other journalists, and they say it was good. Do you want the links to it?

7. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

Rodimus Prime

We are in a depression right now so finding a job is going to be really hard if you have experace you have none so it is really worse.

8. CorvusCamenarum macrumors 65816

CorvusCamenarum

3 whole months? You do realize it takes the average graduate 9-12 months to find something in their field, right?

Keep plugging away, and make some contacts.