Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jggann

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 16, 2014
I purchased a MP shortly after their release. I am an amateur photographer and, while the MP was definitely overkill for me, I recently retired and decided to go all out with an MP as retirement present to myself with the intention of moving to 4k as part of my photography hobby. Like many here, I have been waiting on Apple to release a 4k monitor and was really counting on one today. Since that didn't happen, I am tired of waiting and expect to buy a monitor by the end of this year. The price of Dell's 32 inch 4k monitor has dropped to $1,800 and is tempting me. Alternatively, Dell's soon to be released 27 inch 5K monitor is even more tempting to me. Which of these two monitors would you go with assuming the price difference is not the deciding factor? Alternatively, would the Sharp or Asus 32 inch monitors be better than the Dell in your opinion. Thanks for any info.

VirtualRain

macrumors 603
Aug 1, 2008
Vancouver, BC
I purchased a MP shortly after their release. I am an amateur photographer and, while the MP was definitely overkill for me, I recently retired and decided to go all out with an MP as retirement present to myself with the intention of moving to 4k as part of my photography hobby. Like many here, I have been waiting on Apple to release a 4k monitor and was really counting on one today. Since that didn't happen, I am tired of waiting and expect to buy a monitor by the end of this year. The price of Dell's 32 inch 4k monitor has dropped to $1,800 and is tempting me. Alternatively, Dell's soon to be released 27 inch 5K monitor is even more tempting to me. Which of these two monitors would you go with assuming the price difference is not the deciding factor? Alternatively, would the Sharp or Asus 32 inch monitors be better than the Dell in your opinion. Thanks for any info.