Should I install XP or Vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by drfp25, Jun 1, 2008.

  1. drfp25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    My 2.8 ghz, 8800s iMac should be arriving within the next couple of days.
    I plan to use a Windows OS strictly for games. I was going to stick with XP but a friend pointed out that if I go with Vista, then I will be able to play all of the made for windosw/DirectX10 games. But what is the state of the drivers for the 8800gs in vista, are there any known issues?
     
  2. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2

    It depends on how old the games are. I've been running Vista x64 since SP1 came out and have had no problems (even Oregon Trail played fine!) There is a LOT of BS and FUD about Vista, why? I have no idea. The drivers are solid too. I'd say go for Vista x64.
     
  3. drfp25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    Alabama
    #3
    if i want to pay games such as bioshock, gears of war, halo 2, crysis, (and other such games)

    will they run better on xp or vista given that I upgraded to the 8800?
     
  4. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #4
    This may not be true, but a couple of my classmates say that some programs on Windows Xp doesn't work with Vista, but I'm using Vista and its fine, I like the look of it, there may be some things that don't run, but I have not overcome that yet.
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Newer games like Crysis will run gr8 on a Mac Pro 8800 GT with Vista. nVidia's drivers for Vista (x86, x64) are fine, and you'll be needing Vista to play games in DirectX 10 mode.

    But.. older games have issues on Vista. So it really all depends on what type of games you want to play. In my case I split one of my internal drives into 2 partitions so that I can run both XP and Vista.
     
  6. allbrokeup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6

    I had an issue on Vista with an older game - Titanic: AOT - and I remedied it by selecting the executable to run in Windows 2000 COmpatibility and it fixed the problem. I tried with Sim City 3K and 4, the same option, made both of them run smoothly (Except 4 needed XP Compatibility Mode).

    Cheers!

    allbrokeup
     
  7. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #7
    I agree. And there's a lot of herd behaviour coming
    from these critics .. moo moo!

    Some benchmarking:

    http://winbeta.org/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=34&t=9186
    http://www.imagebam.com/image/9786675364575
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    See what I mean? Titanic: AOT was having "issues" (which was solved with a simple fix). Titanic: AOT, while I'm sure is an exciting on-the-edge-of-your-seat game :rolleyes:, is one of the few among the problem titles (with an easy fix). My point is you won't really find any major issues.

    The only one I've come across is installing Quake 3 Arena. The game installed/ran fine, but when I tried to install the 1.32 update (which came out in like 2003 by the way), it gave some error (pretty sure it wasn't Windows' fault though). Let us know what you end up doing, and if you need any help.
     

Share This Page