Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thinkband

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 22, 2007
Hello and good morning to everyone on MR.

Here is my issue, I am a student and need a new laptop by September at the latest. All these rumors about a case redesign (MBP) make me sort of cringe because I am within a month of buying a new MBP. Early June is an ideal time to buy a laptop for me and I just do not want to buy a new MBP at $2k a pop right before the case redesign.

I am just guessing the design will come late this year to early next year (Feb at the latest?) and I need a laptop by then. The thing is, I do not even think I need a MBP. I mostly wanted the faster processor and better graphics card so I could play games. A bigger screen as well. But, I could put the $1k I saved into a custom gaming desktop.

I do basic tasks such as internet and music and some photoshop CS3. I noticed the MB screen has a lower resolution and it is small compared to the MBP. It would be good and portable to get around the campus and I could come back to a sweet set up in my dorm room.

So here is the question:

1) Is it a good idea to get a refurb macbook NOW instead of a MBP just because I cannot wait any longer and when the new update happens, I can decide to sell my laptop or just keep it because I might just like the macbook the best anyways? How much would a macbook refurb bought for $1000 be worth in 6 months?

2) Should I just forget about the MBP alltogether because I only really wanted it for its luxuries such as the alu body and backlight keyboard. Macbook + gaming pc > macbook pro for a college student who likes computer games?

Thanks everyone and I know I sort of jumped around. I'll come back to clear things up if anything is too confusing.

digitalnicotine

macrumors 65816
Jan 11, 2008
USA