Should I just go for the plain Macbook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wotanub, Jan 30, 2010.

1. wotanub macrumors newbie

I'm sick of waiting for a MBP refresh, and I was told today that in i5, and i7 processors would probably only be in the high end MBPs when they come out (I don't have the cash for that! My budget is about 1200 USD)

I was thinking I should just go ahead and get the plain Macbook with upgraded RAM, CPU and HD space. I'm a student that does some word processing, internet, and the occasional Photoshop/Flash/Dreamweaver. I want to run Windows 7 with parallels. I have to move around a lot.

You think the current Macbooks would last me about 3 years with these needs?

2. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

sikkinixx

Or maybe consider a refurb Macbook Pro. They run $1099 in canada, which is the same as the vanilla Macbook.

3. Paul B macrumors 6502

4. macrumorsMaster macrumors 6502

Just get the $899 MB. I was able to install and run Illustrator and After Effects on a dell Mini netbook and actually use them, so I'm sure the core2duo processor would be a LOT better!

In 3 years you can sell it and upgrade to a better Mac.

5. maddan macrumors regular

Wouldn't the $1,199 Pro have better resell value after 3 years? Due to the fact that the Macbooks will be over 5 years old by then? I know it is a little off topic... but something to think about.

6. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

MacMini2009

Macbooks and Macbook Pros would be 5 years old if you sold them 5 years later.

7. maddan macrumors regular

I meant the line itself; usage is obvious, but the fact that MacBooks would be "older" models than the Pros is what I was getting at.

8. jegbook macrumors regular

The current MacBooks are the first generation of a new unibody polycarbonate, so the line is brand spankety.

I think the white MacBook would likely suit you just fine. I might give some thought, though, if you think Firewire or the SD slot would helpful.