Should I just make the jump from PPC to Intel?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mokes, Jun 5, 2008.

1. mokes macrumors newbie

I'm a little frustrated to say the least. Adobe doesn't seem to want to support the PPC G5's with Creative Suite 4, and it looks like Apple's next OS is speculated to be Intel only...

Right now I've got Dual 2.7 G5 PPC, and I've been considering the Mac Pros--but that's another several grand I am not anticipating on dropping on something that isn't really some insane upgrade in speed. I'm a graphic designer, and it is pretty imperative for me to have the latest Adobe software, but sheesh, this is a little ridiculous.

Any recommendations on what to do?

2. matperk macrumors 6502

Well, really -- you're not in any kind of a rush. You've got at least until the end of the year before CS4 comes out and a bit into next year for OS 10.6. You could just wait and keep what you've got and then use the time to save and you could even get a good Mac Pro used for cheaper when you need to upgrade.

That said, it's be a pretty good performance increase. :)

3. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

Dimwhit

Well, one thing to consider is to see what your current machine would sell for. For whatever reason, Macs (even older PPCs) hold their value to an extreme. So it's not like you'd have to pay the full price.

Other than that, there's not much you can do. The PPCs will become obsolete eventually. Not a matter of if, but when. If it were me, I'd sell now while the PPC will still fetch a good price, then get a Mac Pro.

But I'm sure others will have other good suggestions.

4. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

J@ffa