Should I keep it? (2011 MacBook Pro 15)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by keema, Jun 16, 2013.

  1. keema macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #1
    Which one is faster for cs6 and lr4/5

    The macbook pro 2011 15inch i7 2.2ghz or the 2013 macbook pro 13 inch 2.9 i7? Assuming both has the same 16gig of ram 1600 mhz and 240gb kingston hyperx ssd.

    Thanks..
    Christian
     
  2. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
  3. tjgonzo macrumors member

    tjgonzo

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #3
    The 15" MBP will handle strenuous tasks better thanks to its Quad Core i7. The newer 13" has only a dual core processor but, this won't be too apparent in day to day tasks.

    The 13" also has a better Integrated GPU (Intel HD4000 vs. Intel HD3000 in the 15") but, the Integrated GPU is all it has. So if you need to do video editing or other graphic intensive tasks, the 15" is leagues better in that regard.

    If your looking for day to day tasks, the newer model might have a leg up being that it takes 1600mhz ram where as the 2011 will under clock the ram to 1333mhz.

    All in all, I would say keep the 15" unless you need something with a smaller form factor and you don't need to do graphic intensive tasks.
     
  4. Asuriyan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    I wouldn't expect to see a ton of difference. The dual core i7 is still a quite capable CPU. Edge goes to the 15" though.
     
  5. danahn17 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #5
    I'd give a slight benefit to the 15" MBP.

    That being said, I'm not sure if it's going to be a drastic difference. My computer ('09 13" MBP) still runs CS6 capably enough for my photo editing needs. I did max out the RAM and added SSD though...
     
  6. keema thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #6
    I thought that it can accept 1600mhz of ram?

    Also i also saw on the graphics specs of my mac that it has a 1gb amd radeon gpu (i think a ddr5 too if im correct). Is this going to be active only when the mac thinks it needs to? Thats why for day to day tasks the hd3000 is the main gpu?

    Lastly, does the hd4000 better than the dedicated 1gb amd radeon on my macbook pro?
     
  7. VTECaddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #7
    Yes.

    And no, not even close. Dedicated GPU is much more capable.
     
  8. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #8
    The 15" is better. Quad core and dedicated graphics.

    The 13" is a newer generation but only dual core and integrated graphics.
     
  9. keema thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #9
    Thanks for you reply.

    Anyway, what do I need to look at besides the speed of 1600mhz on Ram's?

    I asked because here in the UAE there's a kingston 1600mhz 8gb already and here on the forum mostly they are using the corsair or the one from OWC. Is there a difference between the corsair w/c if, I will buy, it will be online w/o warranty and the Kingston w/c is already available here?

    Thanks,
    Christian
     
  10. VTECaddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #10
    Oops I misread your post. Not sure if your Mac will support 1600mhz RAM. Check your specifications for your model.

    1600mhz vs 1333mhz RAM will not make a noticeable performance difference. The quantity of RAM will. Buy whatever is the fastest speed your computer supports.
     
  11. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #11
    It will support it, but it won't run at 1600MHz.



    ___
     
  12. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #12
    Yes it will
     
  13. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #13
    Sandy Bridge will run RAM at 1600MHz? That's news to me.


    __
     
  14. keema thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    #14
    How will you know that a ram is not running 1600mhz?
     
  15. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #15
    It'd be damn near impossible to tell the difference between 1333 and 1600 without specific testing.



    ____
     
  16. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #16
    If you have the 2720QM CPU or higher yes.
     

Share This Page