Should I keep my Mac Book Pro or my Imac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ides of March, Jul 2, 2012.

1. Ides of March macrumors newbie

Well I have a Mac Book Pro, its a couple years old, and it has the faster speed in it which I got upgraded when I bought it. I also have an Imac, which is about a year old, the entry level one for 1899 or whatever. Anyway the ex missus wants one of them, she is moving into an apartment and I am staying in my house but don't know which one to keep. I am a musician and like writing which is why I bought my MB Pro. I believe you can upgrade the memory for the Pro but not the Imac which is good. I mean we would have to erase and restart both to clear them if we switched. But I like my Pro, but I like the big screen of the Imac. Which would you give up.

2. WardC macrumors 68030

WardC

For music production, I would take the iMac anyday over a laptop, unless you need the capability of mobile performance or DJing with the laptop. Working with Reason, Ableton, Logic, or Cubase is a better experience on a larger display, as far as I see it. The iMac also has an audio input port which can be invaluable from a recording standpoint.

3. Ides of March thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks, that's what I wanted to pro for. When I got the Imac it was for the same reason but the missus laptop fritzed out so she told me to get this and she would get the pro. Technically I bought both of them but since she is splitting she doesn't want to buy another laptop she wants my pro. I do like the bigger screen of the Imac, plus I put Lion on it as well. But I wasn't sure because of the option of not being able to upgrade any memory on the Imac and being able to on the pro. I plan on using garageband for recording at first, but I really don't know how to use it yet. And no I don't DJ, so that isn't an option for me.

4. TopToffee macrumors 6502a

I assume telling her to buy her own toys isn't an option?

5. user418 macrumors 6502a

user418