Should I keep my PBook G4?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by imyrpc, Sep 26, 2010.

1. imyrpc macrumors newbie

Hi,

New here, so thanks for your patience in advance:).

I am relatively new to the World of the Mac, but pretty well acquainted with computers and laptops in particular. I recently picked up a 12" Powerbook G4 for a nice price online (under $200US). It has the fastest processor that was made for it I believe (1.5Ghz) and 1.25Ghz RAM, so it is nice and quick, and I figured it would make an excellent training tool to learn on, which it has done well so far. My question is that recently I've seen some refurbished MacBooks in the under $500 range on a couple of websites and I'm wondering how much better the MacBooks are if you are NOT interested in dual booting into windows with them as I have plenty of Windows hardware to use. Obviously the processors are faster though to get a Core 2 bumps up the price a bit, but the graphics are all integrated whereas I've got a dedicated graphics card and I'm also thinking the build quality/materials might not be as good. Sorry for the ramblings just trying to make a good decision whether to fork over the money and get rid of the G4 (A macbook pro is a little out of my budget).
    Thanks Again

2. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

sjinsjca

It's a great machine. Keep it and use it and enjoy it.

Then at some point, upgrade to a Mac with a Core 2 Duo (not a Core Duo), i5 or i7. That will let you run the latest OS X and software that requires Intel. Jam in as much RAM as you can afford in any case.

At this stage of the game you have nothing to lose by using your current machine for a while. Just keep in mind that repair parts are becoming hard to find, so you may come to a point where the machine is at the end of its useful life and isn't worth repairing.

3. annk Administrator

annk

Staff Member