Should I keep or exchange my MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bttkcooled, Jun 15, 2009.

1. bttkcooled macrumors newbie

well, Ive been eyeing up the new macbook pros for about 2 weeks now. then the new ones came out and won me over ( Im a photographer )

so my fiance decided to surprise me with one for my anniversary present..

she got it from Best Buy.

this is the old 15inch macbook pro unibody ( the one with the open bottom and express port etc )

my question for all you mac gurus ( since this is my first mac )

A) should I keep the one she got me, since it had the express port, non-sealed bottom, Ive read this is sataII, new ones are sata I, does this version support 8gb? they told her this was the new MBP and sold it to her as the new mbp price ( 1999 ) but its not...darn liars!

B) exchange it, and get the new one...since it had a better screen....I know it supports 8gb....sealed back...SD slot ( which I wont use since I use CF )

let me know what you guys think

thank you!

2. amoda macrumors 6502a

If they made you pay $1999 for the old model you should put up a stink. You could probably get the old model for much cheaper than that, albeit new or used.

I'm not a photographer, and I'm by no means telling you how to do your work, but I heard that laptops for photography is a no-no. Well, unless you really need the portability. So Pros using a laptop usually also purchase a display to hookup to their laptop when using it for editing and they're at their desk.

I think it has to do with the changes in how the colour looks when you move your head or the laptop screen up or down.

SD card - Usually limiting if you're a photographer. Different cameras use different memory cards. I'd give the win to the expresscard since you can get a 20-in-1 memory card reader.

Screen- Yes, the new ones are apparently slightly better. Does it make a world of a difference? Not really. You'll probably want to buy a display to place on your desk anyways.