Should I replace iMac with "better" hackintosh?? HELP

Discussion in 'iMac' started by risherwood, Jan 12, 2012.

1. risherwood macrumors newbie

So I am a video editor in high school with an interest in film making, and I posted an ad on craigslist saying i was looking for a mac pro. I currently have a base 2011 imac with 12gb ram and it runs fine for premiere and whatnot. However, a guy on craigslist asked me if i'd consider a hackintosh he built, i asked some info and the hackintosh doesnt seem too bad. It runs mac os x lion and windows 7, it has a 3.31 ghz quad core i5 processor, 8gb ram (32gb max) with 1tb hard drive and "best of all" an AMD radeon hd 6870 with 2gb vram. In addition it has the adobe master collection and has a blu ray reader/burner and it would come with a full 1080p 23" acer monitor plus apple keyboard and mouse. He says he would trade that for my current iMac. Should i do this trade? It seems like a really good deal. Im sure the parts are fine...the guy doesnt seem sketchy but I cant help but wonder if the parts are as reliable as apples. Keep in mind I am probably going to upgrade to a new computer within a year and a half either way. Any advice on what I should do???

2. simsaladimbamba

I wouldn't do the trade, even if the specs seem faster.
    A Hackintosh is always a bit finicky depending on the parts used. You don't know, if the Hackintosh is working properly and if you get the real and legal license to the Adobe Master Collection.

If you are really interested in a Hackintosh and feel, your current iMac is not cutting it:

3. derbothaus, Jan 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012

derbothaus macrumors 601

derbothaus