Should I replace imovie with Premiere Elements or FCP?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by tekriter, Sep 22, 2012.

1. tekriter macrumors newbie

I have read countless threads on this site regarding importing AVCHD into iMovie and have done so several times with mixed results.

I have a pair of Canon Vixia M40 cameras, and record video at 30fps full HD 1920x1080 17mb per second 60i.

The video looks great on the screen but I have been disappointed with the results when shared to a standard def DVD.

I am ready to try different software but I'm not sure where to go next. Premiere Elements looks OK from the online specs, and I tried to use the trial version but when I installed it, it said my free trial time was up. Same day I downloaded it, even. So no luck trying the trial version.

I have no experience with Final Cut Pro, and I wish I didnt have to spend another $300, but if that's what it takes I'll do it.

Premier Elements says it can export DVDs with HD quality on a regular DVD - would that be on a regular DVD burner, not BluRay?

Currently I'm using iMovie 9 (iMovie '11) and have followed the directions posted in various threads for importing AVCHD. In the online reviews in the Mac App store, there are a couple of comments about problems importing AVCHD into the current version 10.0.5.

I am amazed at the knowledge and advice given on this forum, so I as if anyone could help me decide what my next move should be.

Thanks in advance!

2. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

Zeke D

I believe there is a trial version of FC at http://www.apple.com/finalcutpro/

I like FC, especially since I came from the windows side using pinnacle studios - they are very similar.

3. kevinfulton.ca macrumors 6502