Should I replace my battery?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by darnocs, Aug 19, 2015.

1. darnocs macrumors regular

Before anyone replies with a typical "you're the only one who can decide if you need to replace your battery," let me explain:

I'm a college student. My 13" MacBook Pro Early 2011 (MacBookPro8,1) battery currently reads at about 82% capacity with 657 cycles (I know it's rated for 1000 cycles to stay above 80%). That means it has about a 4700 mAh capacity versus the 5700 mAh capacity it came with.

If I'm working at home/in my dorm, I'm pretty much going to have my computer plugged in. If I'm in class, I will have it unplugged. I can usually get about 3~ hours out of the computer before I need to charge it again. My typical settings for battery use include: having WiFi on, screen at mid-brightness, 10–15 tabs open in Google Chrome, with about 4 of those being Gmail tabs (I know, I know…Chrome is a hog), and a word processing app like Pages open. I have 8 GB of RAM, and a hybrid hard drive.

So, my question basically is this: how much more real world time (roughly) do you think this battery would give me (please speak up especially if you've replaced your Mac's battery) or should I just wait until the battery life gets even worse? I'll probably stick with this machine for a while unless it gets broken or something terrible. The mAh rating is 20% more than what I have now, so would it give me roughly a 20% length increase, and would the lower lifespan rating be worth it?

2. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

Taz Mangus

If you are only getting about 3 hours usage out the battery then that is a good sign that it is time to replace the battery. If it were me I would go with the Apple OEM battery.

3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

DeltaMac

Cheap replacement batteries are almost never a bargain, be sure to read the customer reports. They seem typical of cheap batteries - "works good at first, but loses charge more quickly."