Should I Restore my IPhone 4?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Dextor143, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. Dextor143 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I cannot make a decision right now and need help.

    I have Iphone 4 running with T-Mobile, my Internet, MMS and edge is working just fine and no problem at all...

    The only thing that is bothering me is something weird....Everytime, I restart my springboard or "Slide to turn off phone" and restart again...My phone goes straight to home screen but none of the app response until I tab the phone icon...after that I click home button and it kicks me out to lockinfo screen...and from there I put my password to use my phone..

    I restored my Iphone yesterday but didnt set it as a new device....

    Now I am thinking should I do it or leave it as it is? Is there a fix for it?...I would really appreciate it.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Did you save 4.0.1 or 4.0 hashes.

    Since 4.0.2 came out, you can't restore to anything else unless you saved hashes. And you can't jailbreak 4.0.2

    Might make the decision real easy !
     
  3. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I am still running 4.0.1 ....NO I ddint save any hashes..Plus I did the restore yesterday....


    So according to you, I cannot restore to the same firmware? I do have to upgrade it?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    If you select the restore or upgrade buttons in iTunes, you will end up with 4.0.2 which cannot be jailbroken, thus not unlocked now.
     
  5. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Then I guess ..no Option for Restore?


    Is there any way to get rid of this bug?
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Have you done a full reboot of the phone ?
     
  7. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    what do you mean by full reboot?

    I did hold the sleep button and then "Slide to shutoff" and then restarted it?

    can you explain the full reboot?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    Hold down home and power button, takes about 5 -7 seconds until silver apple appears, release both, phone will fully reboot.
     
  9. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    its not gona show me the itunes with usb thing right?
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    As long as your firmware is not corrupted, it should reboot. Obviously, I can't guarantee it however.
     
  11. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    I mean my phone is working just fine...There is nothing wrong with it except that....which actually bugs me

    Firmware wise...I did restore it yesterday and the apple logo got stuck in the middle caz Itunes is no longer restoring jailbreak devices...I had to use blackrain to push that...
     
  12. i11i1i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #12
    Did you try restoring?
     
  13. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    ^^ You cant restore any more...Due to 4.0.2...I do not want to lose my unlock feature since I am running T-Mobile.
     
  14. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    I just reboot my phone and it came back to the same home screen isntead of the lockscreen...


    I dont know what to do?


    Any suggestions?
     
  15. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #15
    Has Saurik said that cydia isn't automatically storing blobs anymore and I somehow missed it? It would be easy enough to run tiny-umbrella to see if it has it.

    In fact I just tried and Apple is still signing 4.0.1 so you can still slip in.
     
  16. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #16
    Download tiny-umbrella and save your SHSH now because they are still signing them.
     
  17. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
  18. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #18
    Really? You have a limited amount of time to do this and you ask? Really?
     
  19. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #19
    I Saved It By Requesting From Cydia Should I Also Request It With Apple As Well?
     
  20. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #20
    No, no need. It's now saved on your computer and through cydia.
     
  21. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #21
    thank You ...I wonder why when I checked the main screen of Cydia it says on the top with green color that SHSH is already saved for this iPhone....anyways...now I used tiny-umbrella...I should be good.

    thanks again.
     
  22. TMar macrumors 68000

    TMar

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ky
    #22
    It should say what iOS version it has SHSHs stored for i.e. 4.0, 4.0.1 but it does take some time before it would show it. Like I said I believe the cydia is still doing this automatically but it's better to safe then sorry with both cydia and local saves.
     

Share This Page