Should I return my refurbished Air for a new Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by floss boy, Sep 3, 2014.

1. floss boy, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014

floss boy macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

Just received a 2013 i7/8GB/512 macbook air. Paid 1525 WITHOUT applecare but just realized a few things:

1. could have gotten it in Deleware (30 mins away) tax free
    2. could have gotten brand new 2014 for a similar price since I am a student and now know to buy from deleware plus I wanted to add applecare

I am a dental student and usually have about 20-30 internet tabs open with about 12 pdf files and a few MS office/ppt files open at a given time. I also need to store over 150 gb and counting of school material on my laptop. They must be with me at all times. I also must have a patient database program that houses all patient charts and xrays so I can access them. I use the laptop 12+ hrs a day. I do watch a lot of movies in the little spare time I have.

I really need a long battery life as my classes run from 8-5 with very few charging outlets.

should I just return this refurb one and get a 2014? Also should I get an i5 or i7- I keep hearing that the i5 is better on battery life.

My main concerns are speed (I must work efficiently and fast) and battery life and weight of the laptop.

Thanks for any help!

2. ayeying macrumors 601

ayeying

If you could get it cheaper... and newer.. why not?

3. floss boy thread starter macrumors newbie

well it would be like 20 bucks cheaper if I were to use the "100 dollar gift card" towards apple care vs no gift card from refurbished + purchasing apple care for refurbished one. It would also be a hassle returning it as its a 40 min drive each way with no traffic and I wouldnt get the computer for another week or so.

but mainly im trying to figure out if I should go with i5 or i7 for my needs.

4. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

Newtons Apple