Should i sell MBA and buy an iPad Air

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by abz1981, Nov 17, 2013.

1. abz1981 macrumors 65816

Hey all
    I know you guys probably get this question a lot and i know its my decision at the end of the day. However just like some advice.

This is my current set up. I have my mid 2011 13 inch MBA, which I use for browsing on safari, doing the occasional word documents using Pages or Mac Office Word, or using exel or numbers.

Now using the above word/pages and numbers/exel is maybe like once or twice a month. I mainly use my mba most of the time for browsing and twice a week i download via torrents my favourite US TV shows such as Homeland etc. What I cannot get on netflix or regular cable tv I use torrents, I also stream quite a lot as well as watch things like BBC I player etc. Thats pretty is much my usage for my MBA.

Oh also forgot to add my MBA hardly ever leaves the house. Its always at home, unless I go on a long journey etc.

Now from reading the above, if your in my position would you sell your MBA and buy an iPad Air. I also have an iPhone so at the moment, I may do occasional browsing on my iPhone and use my MBA when I am in bed. Only downside to getting an IPad Air is that I won't be able to download my shows etc through torrents.

Any thoughts or suggestions or advice?

thanks in advance.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I think for content creation, i.e., word, excel etc, a laptop is a superior product. I like my iPad but I find using my laptop for writing, surfing and emails to be better but that's just me

3. abz1981 thread starter macrumors 65816

Hey

Yeah i guess I know what you mean. Thinking about it now. I do like the typing on my mba and the feel of them buttons. I also guess if I wanted to use my mba for more than what I am using it for, I can and with an iPad Air I won't be able to do so. hmm just one of them thoughts today I guess I am having lol.

4. rillrill macrumors 6502