Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CFoss

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 26, 2011
I've been using my computer for the past three years. It's been doing great with my regular Logic Studio sessions and my occasional game (Team Fortress 2). However, I'm starting to feel like it's hitting its limits. The EastWest/Quantum Leap products not only take a long time to load, but I find that Logic Pro is consistently overloading. I'm pretty sure it's the CPU reaching its limit. I tried to upgrade the RAM to fix the problem (which helped immensely), but it was a short term solution. Aka it still doesn't fix the problems in Logic Studio.

Current Specs:
Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz Quad-Core
14 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM RAM
nVidia 8800 GT
750 GB 7200 RPM HDD (OS-X)
1 TB 7200 RPM HDD (EWQL Library)

I noticed that I'm also out and about a lot more often these days. So here's the deal: I'm debating on selling my Mac Pro and purchasing an i7 2.2 Quad-Core MacBook Pro. According to Geekbench, the i7 MacBook Pro is almost twice as fast as my current Mac Pro. This also allows me to take my studio with me. Well, almost.

Should I do that? How much do you think I could get off of it? Or should I try and stick with it a little longer? If I should stay with it longer, do you recommend adding a Solid State Drive to the Mac Pro? Or would upgrades to it from here on out be redundant? And would you have any recommendations on what SSD to get?

Last edited:

goMac

Contributor
Apr 15, 2004
Aside the processor, your machine has HUGE advantages over a Macbook Pro. I'm pretty sure the graphics card you have now is still faster than a MBP graphics card...

Upgrade that GPU to a 5870 and add a second CPU and you'll blow any MBP out of the water.

I'm not really sure a MBP will help a huge amount as the MBP is still a quad core. Going to 8 cores will be far better than getting a MBP.

AppleNewton

macrumors 68000
Apr 3, 2007