Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dwharrington

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 10, 2006
New York, NY
I am a fed up windows user who has really been jonesing for a mac laptop. I am also a writer who likes to spend hours in a cafe, meaning I need good battery life. First I was going to buy a 12" iBook G4 because of the rumored 5 hours of battery life (is this true?). Then I heard 13.3" intel iBooks/Macbooks would be coming out, so I've been waiting for that. However, I know I can buy a high-speed, high-memory Dell with extended battery life of 7 hours for much less money than any of the Macbooks currently out. Should I wait for the 13.3" Macbook? Will it be able to get the battery life I need (5 hours would be sweet)? Would it really be better than the Dell I could get for the same money? Help me out.

--------
David
http://www.davidwharrington.com

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
Andover, MA
The iBook battery life is true, but no one outside of Apple and their vendors can tell you what the MacBook's life will be. Likely comparable, but we'll see.

As far as whether it's better to get a Dell or a MacBook, that's entirely up to you. 95% of the people here who use Macs use them because of OS X and think the nice laptop packages are a nice bonus. If OS X appeals to you, then the MacBook (or a cheap iBook) is a no-brainer. If you don't care about the OS, then Dell will be cheaper.

Personally, as a professional software engineer, I prefer OS X over Windows, although I use both. As a writer, I'd say that OS X brings out your creative side - but that's just me.

And you can always buy a spare battery - it'll all still weigh less than the Dell. ;)

ero87

macrumors 65816
Jan 17, 2006
New York City
the Dell may be cheaper, but remind yourself of the hassle you've had with windows.