Should I switch?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Burnsey, Apr 10, 2008.

1. Burnsey macrumors 6502a

Well not to mac, seeing as I've owned my MBP for over a year. But my dad is getting a new top of the line blackbook and he says he would trade for my MBP if I want. I am a college student, so portability is important and although my MBP is pretty portable for a 15inch notebook, sometimes I feel it's a little excessive.

In trading for the blackbook I would get a much bigger 250GB HD vs my 120GB, a 2.4ghz penryn vs. my 2.33ghz Merom, and the ability to upgrade to 4GB of ram instead of my 3gb max.

My biggest worry about the macbook is quality, I've heard a lot about cracking cases and was wondering if they've fixed this by now, and/or if this is less prominent on the blackbooks vs whitebooks? How easily does the black get scratched? Another thing I'd be losing is my big display, now this isn't too bad since I use an external one when I'm at home, and wouldn't mind a smaller display in class/library, but how good is the quality of the blackbook display?

Have they improved the isight with newer macbooks? And what is the average idle temperature (CPU A)? How many slots for ram do the new macbooks have?

btw the downgrade in GFX card is not too important either, the heaviest program I use is Photoshop CS3 which is more CPU dependent.

Overall would anyone recommend switching from a beautiful but older aluminum 15inch MBP to a new top of the line blackbook?

2. ClassicBean macrumors 6502a

I've got both - although not the same specs.

Black MacBook C2D - 2.0 Ghz
    MPB C2D - 2.16 Ghz

Keep the MBP. The quality is much better than that of the MacBook and it just feels more solid.

3. heatmiser macrumors 68020