Should I take my macbook pro back? (Music recording/mixing question)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Davy101, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. Davy101 macrumors newbie

    Aug 21, 2012
    Hi, I have just prchased a 13" macbook pro 2.5ghz i5 with 8GB of RAM. I want to use it to record and mix music on (And use protools). But, I'm having second thoughts. I'm thinking maybe I should return it and get the 13" macbook pro 2.9ghz i7. It sounds like a no brainer, but money is a big issue for me so I really cant decide what to do, after all, this is a serious purchase for me I have been saving up for. The truth is i dont really know how significant the difference between the two computers is. Do you guys/girls think it would be worth paying the extra $200 plus tax to upgrade?

    What about the 15" Macbook 2.3ghz i7?? Which one would you get (for recording/mixing and why??
  2. Davy101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Aug 21, 2012
  3. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Jul 23, 2003
    Austin, Texas
    I record music on a 2007 Macbook. Normally less than 16 audio tracks total.

    You don't need to spend any more money on a better computer. You'll benefit more from using that money towards an SSD in the future -- especially if you have large sample libraries, or record/playback many tracks at a time.
  4. Davy101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Aug 21, 2012
    OK. Thank you so much for your input. I just don't know very much about computers yet and wanted to make sure I made the right decision. In general, I am very ambivalent when spending money. If anyone has anything else to add that would be very helpful
  5. logicpro7 macrumors 6502a

    Sep 25, 2006
    London UK
    Keep the 2.5 13. I use the same mbp for productions and remixes for labels.

    Just upgrade when you can afford it with 16gb ram and a SSD :)
  6. sofianito macrumors 65816


    Jan 14, 2011
    Follow your intuition...
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601


    Jul 17, 2010
    It depends on what your production style is. I wouldn't get the 13" 2.9GHz though as a replacement. If you want more power replace with the 15" Quad. Bigger screen and twice the cores. But you most likely don't need them unless you rely heavily on virtual instruments. Even then RAM is more important usually. Get the Mac and put a load close to the max you think you would expect it to do. If the CPU use stays within reason your good. If not then start thinking about swapping or weighing the price vs. performance etc.
  8. bwhli macrumors 6502a


    Jan 9, 2012
    Boston, MA
    I think your laptop now is fine. I used to mix on a 2.66 GHz C2D. Recently upgraded to a rMBP, but the old one wasn't limiting in any way.
  9. RAWphenom macrumors member

    Nov 4, 2010
    606/859, KY
    In case you weren't aware, which I doubt you were because of your join date, it is proper forum etiquette to wait at least 24 hours before bumping your own thread.

    You, on the other hand, waited 10 minutes. I think that qualifies as a record somewhere.
  10. chrslbrt macrumors newbie

    Aug 22, 2012
    I got the 15 retina for audio production because of the quad core.

    I also record music, as well as mix (but not master) my own records. I have never had a mac before, so I can't tell you how much that version will be able to run, but my previous computer had the same specs, and it did fine up til around 15-20 or so, fully loaded of course.

    I've wanted to do more than that, so the boost in CPU power will help. As far as VST's go, that's mostly (perhaps all?) RAM dependent, so unless you want to add more tracks to your songs than you have currently, then you should be fine with what you have.


    It's a bump man, it's not going to kill anyone.

    Apparently, they didn't mention anything about "not being a douche" on the forum etiquette.
  11. ryanmixnote macrumors newbie

    Feb 9, 2014

    Do you have 16Gg or 8Gb on your retina?
    If I buy retina 15 inch, would it be enough with 8 Gb for mixing and producing music or do i really need 16 Gb?

    Thanks in advance! :)
  12. mrweirdo macrumors 6502

    Nov 21, 2005
    I would think 16gb would be the safe bet even though 8gb might be OK for now. Really it depends on the software used.
  13. CausticPuppy macrumors 65816

    May 1, 2012
    Old thread, but maybe still relevant....

    You don't need 16GB for audio recording unless you need to load gigs and gigs of samples into your virtual instruments. But these days they pretty much all stream from disk so as long as you have an SSD you're fine.

Share This Page