Should I upgrade from 4GB to 8GB using the iMac i3

Discussion in 'iMac' started by rsted222, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. rsted222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #1
    I basically just web-surf, and use iPhoto, iMovie, and iTunes. I can get 4GBs of RAM from OWC for $49. Now, will I even notice much a difference (going from 4GB to 8GB) running the previously mentioned programs?

    What say you?
     
  2. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    I'm using a 3GB PC for over 2 years on wich I play games like Crysis 2, do some basic video editing, basic photo editing,... and all goes fine!

    So why upgrade from 4GB to 8GB on OSX (which is more memory-efficient than Windows) for basic activities?

    50 dollars isn't much, but you wouldn't need the RAM for your use...
     
  3. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    I doubt you need more than 4gb of ram. But the system monitor will tell you how much you are using and if you need more you can add more.
     
  4. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #4
    I'd put money on it, you won't notice any difference with the extra RAM!
     
  5. ZombieZakk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #5
    ok as everyone said you will not notice a difference in your uses but its 50 bux so i would probably buy it myself because it cant hurt and you have the extra 50. but if money is an issue and your just trying to boost performance then save your money because it wont noticeably help with what your doing.
     
  6. rsted222 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #6
    Thanks for the input

    Money isn't the issue, but if it won't boost what I'm doing, it's not worth the hassle.
     
  7. ZombieZakk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    #7
    i hear ya but the imac have the easiest ram to upgrade its literally three philips screws at the bottom of the monitor and your all set. thats why i said if i had the 50 bux id do it just for the hell of it.
     

Share This Page