Should I upgrade my Nvidia geforce 120 card?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Noctilux.95, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Noctilux.95 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #1
    I have a 2009 Mac Pro with the Nvidia GeForce 120 video card.
    I only use my computer for PS CS5, Aperture, and Photo Mechanic.
    Would a better video card make any difference?

    Btw I have an apple 27" LED.

    Thanks!
     
  2. dissolve macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    #2
    Are you experiencing issues with your workflow in any of those apps? An upgrade could really improve Aperture at least, as it relies heavily on the GPU. Plus, you're pushing a lot of pixels to that monitor, which could cause slowdowns. But, if everything is working well for you, no reason to upgrade.
     
  3. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #3
    Aperture is VRAM-heavy. if it ever slows to a crawl for you, then you're probably out of VRAM. in that case, any 1GB card will do. otherwise, I don't see a need.
     
  4. SnoFlo macrumors regular

    SnoFlo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    #4
    I have the GT 120 as well and running Spaces gets slightly choppy while running 1 27" (2560x1440) and 1 22" (1650x1080) LCDs. I use Aperture and I'm curious if the 5770 that I've ordered will make any difference. Will let you know.
     
  5. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    I am planning to upgrade my nVidia in the future, but not with an ATI Radeon 5870, as it is expensive and the drivers are slow in comparison to the Windows version. (Cinebench test proves it).
     
  6. Garen macrumors regular

    Garen

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles Area
    #6
    5770 in my 2007 2.1 8C run 30 and 24 ACD with no trouble, it is quite, fast and cheap well for :apple: atleast.
     
  7. RebootD macrumors 6502a

    RebootD

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    #7
    I would suggest anything over the GT120. It's the slowest stock GPU they've offered in years. (It is slower than the stock card from the 2008 model)
     
  8. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #8
    I bought an ATI Radeon 5770 at the Apple Store for my MacPro 2009.
    Hopefully I will see some benefits from the upgrade.
    I was thinking of putting the old Geforce GT 120 in the third PCI-e slot. Will it consume power if no display is attached to it?

    TIA
     
  9. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9

    Yes, but it's not much. iStat menus reads 13W for my GT120 in the second PCIe slot.
     
  10. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #10
    Does anyone know if I should desactivate Adobe and Quark software before replacing the nVidia GT 120 with the ATI Radeon 5770?
     

Share This Page