Should I Upgrade To A New Computer?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by zachster104, Jan 31, 2015.

1. zachster104, Jan 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015

zachster104 macrumors newbie

Hello Everyone,

I am new to macs and recently bought a 2009 Nehalem Mac Pro (MB871LL/A) with the following specs:

Specs
    • Intel Xeon 2.66GHz W3520 Quad-Core (Octa-Threaded) CPU
    • PowerColor AMD Radeon HD 7870 Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Memory (Upgraded)
    • DL-DVI-I, SL-DVI-D, HDMI, and Dual Mini Display Ports
    • Samsung 8GB (2x4GB) PC3-12800 ECC Registered Workstation Memory
    • Memory Upgradeable to 48GB
    • Western Digital Green 1TB 7200RPM SATA HDD (OS X)

• Currently Running Yosemite
    • Western Digital 500GB 7200RPM SATA HDD (Windows 7)

• Boot Camp 5 w/ Windows 7
    • AirPort 802.11a/b/g/n WiFi Card Installed
    • Internal Bluetooth v2.1 + EDR
    • 18x Dual-Layer Superdrive

Software
    • Final Cut Pro X
    • Logic 9 Pro + GarageBand Jam Packs & Boldt Instruments
    • iLife (GarageBand, iPhoto, iMovie, iWeb, etc.)
    • iWork
    • Adobe Photoshop CS6 Master Collection
    • Adobe Photoshop CS4
    • Manga Studio EX4
    • Microsoft Office 2011 Mac
    • GeekBench 2.4.3
    • QuickBoot

Here is the listing I purchased:http://www.ebay.com/itm/251806802990?_trksid=p2060778.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

I am planning on using this for my business. I need it for Live Streaming, Video Editing, and Website Development.

Is this machine better than the current iMacs being sold?

Should I upgrade to a better computer?

My overall budget is $800

Any information would be helpful

Thanks! I love this community.:apple:

2. linuxcooldude macrumors 68020