Should I use Firewall and/or FileVault

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mortenjensen, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. mortenjensen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    What is your security setup. Do you use Firewall and FileVault? There are, of cause, a Firewall on my router - so any need for an extra Firewall?

    I have always used FileVault but don't know if it has done anything good.

    Morten
     
  2. 0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    It's always better to have them on.

    Also, put a password on your firmware, keep backups off-site.

    This is my setup.
     
  3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #3
    Firewall in OS X, router, plus FileVault, plus EFI firmware password lock.

    That's how I protect my data.
     
  4. 0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    Do you have an off-site backup?
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I use FV, it protects my data in the unlikely event that the laptop is stolen.
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    You should always use a firewall no matter what. Be it a hardware firewall like a router or a software firewall such as the one built into OS X.

    I use Filevault to encrypt my Mac's drives. I recommend encryption, but each person must be fully aware of the consequences if they forget their password.
     
  7. crawler1975 macrumors regular

    crawler1975

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #7
    anything that can keep the "bad guys" at bay is good. A firewall that is properly configured is a must. Filevault provides an extra layer of security - this is especially helpful when your laptop gets stolen.
     
  8. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #8
    Three of them.

    One in my car, one in my office and one in a 960GB Transcend JetDrive SSD that I always carry in my pocket.
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Are those encrypted?
     
  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    Yup, with AES-256 and a 32-character password.

    Being a computer science major, I'm quite paranoid on my security :)
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    That's good because it seems counter productive to have your laptop encrypted but then walk around with unencrypted data.
     
  12. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #12
    Firewall is useless if you are at home on your own private network because the router already has its own firewall. If you use a public network, then you may want to use it.

    FireVault just encrypts your data so if your machine is stolen, you data is safe.
     
  13. 556fmjoe macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    #13
    Of course. I really don't know why anyone wouldn't.
     
  14. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #14
    Does FireVault take up more space?
     
  15. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

    Cloudsurfer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #15
    Not as far as I'm aware. there is no reason not to have it enabled, especially on a laptop.
     
  16. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #16
    No it doesn't use up any space, it just encrypts (scrambles) the data on the drive which can be un-scrambled with the password.
     
  17. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #17
    Of course. Surely there isn't anyone stupid enough out there to not use them? Unless your company has a third party solution, then every single person should enable the firewall and FileVault. It's the first thing I do after installing OS X or powering on a new Mac for the first time.
     
  18. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #18
    I have been using FV for as long as I remember, can't imagine having a laptop without that enabled.

    EFI firmware password though, I didn't know you could set one. :eek:
     
  19. poiihy macrumors 68020

    poiihy

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    #19
    There is a reason.
    You don't need FireVault if you rarely bring your computer anywhere and don't have much data to hide, and FireVault is just a hassle.
     
  20. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #20
    It hasn't been a hassle at all for me. I've recently enabled it on three Mac's, two with SSD, and one with a HDD, and they're all working great and there isn't any extra burden added to me because of it.

    What kind of hassle are you experiencing?
     
  21. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #21
    Not to thread hijack - but the only draw back is a slower initial boot / log in?
     
  22. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #22
    The only slowdown is that you have to type in the password to unlock the drive.

    Actual boot time is unaffected, and neither is login.
     
  23. Spink10 macrumors 601

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #23
    Hmm - wonder why after I type in my password it goes through a small progress bar and then when that completes I retype my password. This only happens after I have shut down my computer and restart it.
     
  24. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #24
    The first password is to unlock the boot drive so that the computer can boot. That part isn't considered as part of the startup time.

    The progress bar is the boot process itself.

    The second time you type the password is at the login screen.
     
  25. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #25
    That is not the default setup. Normally your login password and FV password are the same and you just enter the PW once and it goes right to the desktop. Sounds like you have yours setup with two non-matching passwords. You can change that if you want to have one password, which is what I have and is the default.

    Then using FV is just like a normal login.
     

Share This Page