Should I use Office 2008 or Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 99MustangGTman, Dec 3, 2008.

1. 99MustangGTman macrumors 6502

I'm new to the whole Mac thing, so excuse me if my questions may seem a little dumb. Would it be better for me to buy Office 2008 for Mac or just use Bootcamp and install Windows and run Office 2007 that way?

I am a student and need to use Word a lot to write papers.

The reason I ask is from the reviews I have read on Office 2008 for Mac make me want to question whether I should purchase it or not. I won't be doing anything too complicating on it and 90% of the time I will only need to use Word like I said. Also I would like to use Office 2008 if I could so I don't have to use excess hard drive space installing Windows on here. But let me know what you think. Thanks

-Ray

2. jmann macrumors 604

jmann

bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    I think that bootcamping your computer is overkill if you are just going to use it to run Office. I would either buy Office for Mac, or install VMWare or parallels to run office on xp without having to restart your computer just for that.

3. pianoman macrumors 68000

pianoman

office for mac is fine. don't bother with bootcamp, vmware, or parallels.

4. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

Office 2008 isn't the greatest piece of software, but if you're just going to be doing some work in Word, it'll be fine.

5. robanga macrumors 68000

robanga

I would call Office 2007 for Windows a somewhat better experience than 2008 on the Mac, particularly the UI items such as the ribbon interface and being able to easily access a format toolbar with just a right click.

However, 2008 is really not bad at all and on my systems that have both, I tend to use 2008 a lot.

Based on that I would say go with the Mac version.

6. rtpub macrumors member

rtpub

7. EatMyApple macrumors 6502