Should I use software to run Windows or should I run it natively, for games?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Vergißmeinnicht, Nov 6, 2008.

  1. Vergißmeinnicht macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #1
    Hi,

    I've been on Mac Rumors FOREVER, but this is my first post. I'm basically new to Macs (for the most part, I used OS 8 or 9 in elementary school), and I've just ordered a new MacBook Pro! It hasn't come in yet, I wish it would ship faster than 5-7 business days! I'm wondering, if I'm using Parallels/VMWare Fusion, is that good for gaming (like with Fallout 3, for example ;)) or should I stick to Boot Camp? The problem is, I don't want to partition my HDD to waste space with Windows! If there isn't any lag and it's not too hard on the system (which I'm sure it could handle, it's a beast! :D), would it be ok to use Parallels/VMWare Fusion for graphically and hardware intensive games?

    Edit: Oh and I forgot to say, I wasn't quite sure whether to post this in this forum or in the "Windows on a Mac" forum because it's kind of in the middle, sorry!
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Fallout 3 on my virtual machine? Ouch, please just use Boot Camp.

    Just decide the battle between Windows XP 32-bit and Vista 64-bit.
     
  3. Manzana macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #3
    you have a 350 gig hd? surely you could spare 40 gigs for windoze right?
     
  4. Balty macrumors 6502

    Balty

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #4
    Use Bootcamp. Just use it.

    Nice MR name BTW. Are you very forgetful?
     
  5. Vergißmeinnicht thread starter macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #5
    Thanks a lot! (Wow that was a quick reply!)
    Is 64-bit really that much better, or does it just waste more resources like Vista already is great for? I'm running Vista Ultimate 32-bit on this dumb PC, waiting for my Mac; and it's fairly quick but the OS is terrible, crashes all the time when I play CnC 3 Tiberium Wars! To think <i>this</i> was top-of-the line lol.. :p
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Maybe you should actually take the time to investigate what's causing the crashes.

    I haven't had any problems with XP 32 or Vista 64. It's just a personal preference to game on XP for me.
     
  7. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #7
    ^^ boot camp is a must but which would give me better fps on first person shooters xp or vista?

    ChrisN
     
  8. Vergißmeinnicht thread starter macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #8
    Okay, dankeschön!

    Thanks :)! Haha no, It's just an awesome word, don't you agree? :D
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    That depends on the game and the drivers. Sometimes XP is faster and others Vista.
     
  10. Vergißmeinnicht thread starter macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #10
    Personally, I think you should go with Vista simply because many of the newer games coming out are like Vista only! At least that's certainly how they appear!

    But also, it's more likely XP would give you better FPS, it takes less resources to run the OS. Therefore, you have more resources to run the actual application! :)
     
  11. Balty macrumors 6502

    Balty

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #11
    Es ist. :D
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    And those would be?

    I can think of Halo 2 and Dark Jogger Shoota but those just have installers that look for Vista and can run in XP. A game developer that doesn't support DX9/OpenGL is a fool right now.
     
  13. Vergißmeinnicht thread starter macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #13
    I suppose, it's just this is my first personal Mac and I wanted it to be spacious for all my applications and musik and the likes :D
     
  14. Vergißmeinnicht thread starter macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #14
    Well there's so many games that say 'Games for Windows' (something like that) and have the little Vista Orb there it just seems like an implication of it only running on Windows, that's why I said it seems like it! :D
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    My "Games For Windows" run just fine on XP as well.
     
  16. Balty macrumors 6502

    Balty

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #16
    Same here.

    I'm keeping some of my music, photos, videos etc. on an external harddrive so installing windows wasn't a problem, space wise.
     
  17. Vergißmeinnicht thread starter macrumors newbie

    Vergißmeinnicht

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    Deutschland (I wish)
    #17
    Well that's good to know!

    Well guys, I have school tomorrow morning, and much homework to finish! So, thank you all very much for your assistance! :cool:

    See ya!
     

Share This Page