Should I wait for a new iMAC??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by randomdude84, Oct 27, 2013.

1. randomdude84 macrumors newbie

Hey guys, first post here. I am in the market for a new mac. I am currently running a 2005 powerbook g4. I have saved up enough and was ready to buy the new $1999 15" rmbp but realized that I really dont need a laptop. The imac is much more suitable for my needs since I wont be traveling or in need of carrying my computer around at all.

I am not sure if there is gonna be another imac coming around the corner or not. I have only enough money to buy the $1999 27" and dont have enough to change anything.

I will be doing some home recording with pro tools, logic pro x, and using some audio interfaces to do the recording (im a musician in case you couldnt tell). I dont play games on the computer and I dont watch movies or do any video stuff.

I have a 500gb wd external hd right now so the 1tb hd that comes with the base model will be a significant upgrade for me. As far as the ram goes, im running only 1gb now so 8gb is mind blowing to me. i have no education on flash or fusion drives so im not sure what i would benefit from with those?

Anyways, what would you guys do? I can buy the newest imac but is there gonna be another one coming out soon? Do you guys also think $1999 27" will be good enough for what i need it to do without upgrading it? I dont wanna get it and then realize that i need more ram or could of benefited from the other hd choices.

Oh yeah, the icore5 vs the icore7, do i really need the 7?

Thanks guys

2. MikeChicago macrumors member

The latest iMac was refreshed only a few weeks ago. The next refresh is not expected until late next year. Although it may be even longer considering the next generation Intel chips have been delayed due to production issues.

If you are to buy an iMac the current version is the way to go. No need to wait.