Should I Wait for the new iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JonathanIsZen, Mar 1, 2012.

1. JonathanIsZen macrumors newbie

So, I’m about to sell my MacBook Pro (15”, early 2011). I’ve loved it, but I’ve found that I don’t use the portability aspect (event though I’m a student) and would rather have the reliability and screen size of an iMac.
    I’ve decided to buy the 27” iMac, in hopes that it will last me longer than the others. I do some light video/graphic editing, browsing, media, and I like a machine that can run games seriously, although it’s not a huge priority.
    I’ve decided to buy an iPad along with it. I will, of course, wait for the iPad 3, since it’s only 2 weeks or so away. But I was wondering if there would be any point to waiting for the iMac update. It’s obviously due for one very soon, but I didn’t know if it would be significant enough to deal without my own computer for the time until it came out (I’m selling my MBP tomorrow). Will whatever they update on it really be worth it? If it’s just a small processor bump, I would think not. Does anyone think they’ll be making big changes or even a redesign? If so, I would certainly want to wait.

2. eightclicks macrumors newbie

The new iMac will likely arrive in the next month or two, but it might just as well take another 6 months. As for whether the update will be significant; only Apple can answer that question.

I'm waiting for the update myself, but that's because my mid-2007 iMac is still holding up quite well. The 2011 model definitely isn't a bad choice, so going with that might be a better option than going without a computer for the next 1-6 months.

3. JonathanIsZen thread starter macrumors newbie

Well, I do know that past performance is not always an indicator with Apple, but in their recent history, the longest an iMac has gone without an update is 309 days. (According to MacRumors.)