Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

reidgc

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 20, 2013
Hello all,

I am torn between waiting for the new Mac Pro that could be announced at this year's WWDC or buying a maxed out 27in iMac that is available now.

My situation: I am an iOS developer that relies on Xcode as well as Eclipse. I develop on a 2009 MacBook Pro that is showing its age. I also own a 2006 iMac, from which I am posting, but anything CPU intensive is out of the question for this ole gal.

I have come up with this analysis:

27in iMac with max specifications
  • Available for purchase now
  • Virtually impossible to upgrade hardware in the future

The next Mac Pro
  • No telling when it will be released
  • Possible to upgrade hardware in the future
  • More powerful than iMac

Anything I'm failing to take account for?

I'd certainly appreciate any insight you could give me!

-Reid

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
I would wait until WWDC but after that, I would buy an iMac if the MP isn't announced. It is a shame that Apple can't feel the strain from being a bunch of bastards about updating the MP line.

zarzonis

macrumors member
May 3, 2013
Greece
If you need CPU power and want hardware upgrade potentials then buy a hackintosh. Mac Pro machines are good but too overpriced.
Hackintosh nowadays are reliable, cheap and most important faster than anything from Apple side right now and probably the next generation of Apple products. Hackintosh is what I use now for my projects for 3 years and I had no problem at all. But my hardware is very old now...