Should I wait or Buy?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Zelnaga, Jun 21, 2010.

1. Zelnaga macrumors regular

Ive been considering this for a while now, but Im looking to buy an iMac for the first time. Im selling my PC to a friend for £450 which leaves me without a desktop soon enough, but I have a laptop to tie me over.

What am i going to use iMac for?

Starcraft 2, Diablo 3, Team Fortress 2
    Surfing Web/Music etc ... Everyday tasks
    Anime watching - Alot of it
    Parellel XP or Windows 7

Should I wait or buy? The only reason Im asking now is because I work in the education industry and one of the apple reseller stores are knocking £200 all iMacs, and so high end is £1024 and the high end 27 i5 is £1436. But they said the deal wouldnt be there for the refresh (i take that comment with a pinch of salt as they might, but judging on the new mac minis and ipads there wouldnt be a reduction in price), but its still a good deal. But would a C2D and current graphics card on the current 21.5 be good enough for what I want to do? Id consider i5 but it might be too huge for me. Im still pondering though.

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

High-end 21.5" does those fine but a new one would do it better, especially gaming. 200£ off sounds like a good deal so it's up to you.

3. davidw macrumors member

Do you really want to play games that are coming out in 2010 and 2011 with a graphics card from 2008? Do you want to play those games on a super high resolution, 27" screen?

The current iMac graphics card is an ATI 4850, which premiered in August of 2008. Undoubtedly, the next iMac will feature a far better GPU.

I'm going to be playing Diablo 3 and Civilization V on my next iMac, and knowing how much even Civilization IV slows down my 2.8 GHz C2D 2007 iMac (Geekbench scores in the 4000s) I know I need the best system possible.

The decision is obvious.

4. mrmarts macrumors 65816