Should I Wait?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gsl942, Dec 9, 2007.

1. Gsl942 macrumors newbie

I am a student, and would like to purchase a macbook. I want to know if I should wait until January for this "ultra-portable" to come out, or is that going to replace the MBP? If it is replacing the MB, is it worth it to wait? I figured that if the new MB/P doesn't turn out to be what I'm looking for, I can always get a refurbished MB, but are refurbished computers OK? Will it work as well as any other computer? Thanks in advance!

2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

I'd buy now. If you don't have the money to buy an MBP now, you're not going to have the money to buy the ultra-portable either, as it's surely not going to be offered at the MB's prices.

It isn't. Not unless you count the 12" Powerbook as a replacement for the 12" iBook. They're catering to different price markets. If the computer is covered in aluminum, it's not going to sell at MB prices, so the "wait" question doesn't apply unless you were already seriously looking at MBPs.

Refurbished computers from Apple are every bit as checked--more so, in fact--than their new stuff. To be honest, I'd feel safer buying a refurbished computer than a brand new one, as I'd know it had already been double-checked.

3. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

skyrider007

The new Macbooks have just been recently updated, so it's a good time to buy. If you're eyeing for an MBP then you should wait.

4. damitch macrumors newbie

damitch

hmm. actually in the same position as you but yea. WAIT!!! patience is a virtue :) i am contemplating that thought as well so yea. wait and see cause i want the back lit keyboard and the nvidia card.

5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo