Should I worry about overheating when using a waterproof bag for runs?

Discussion in 'iPhone Accessories' started by kylera, Apr 12, 2015.

1. kylera macrumors 65816

kylera

I have been looking up various running pouches and have determined that I will definitely need to use some kind of plastic bag like the Loksak to supplement the non-water resistant or minimally resistant pouches.

Now my run sessions are hardly long. I am only getting started on 5K and adding walking sessions with it, so maybe a grand total of 1-1.5 hours on my feet. However, I work up a pretty heavy sweat even on cool days, hence the waterproof bag.

Should I worry about any overheating issues when I use such a sealed bag?

2. meistervu macrumors 65816

My guess would be "no".

What do you use the phone for when you run? Watching video or playing game? Probably not. My guess would be music. I don't think streaming music is that demanding on the phone to cause it to heat up that badly.

The worst is that would happen is the phone will overheat and shutdown and you would know. There is no harm even if that happens.

3. kylera thread starter macrumors 65816

kylera

Thanks for your reply.

4. dnoph macrumors member

I agree. I take my phone on my jogs and have never felt it get hot. The most I use while running is a fitness tracker with streaming music.

As for sweat, an arm band helps with that

5. Alan Mac Farlan macrumors regular

I see guys and gals in the military take their iPhone every where ... at work, in the gym .. walk into the sauna with it ... they keep it around as they are on call for their duty shift.

never is a problem for them ... unless they take it underwater.

Then get Snow Lizard Pack around it ... has power battery, solar panel on it for recharge when you do not have a plug around ... and it is certified down to 30 feet depth.

Some people want to use their iPhone for fish stories I guess.

It was that BIG .. they say .. and here is the picture thingy ...