Should Middle Schools have programming elective?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dataset, Aug 28, 2007.

?

Should Middle schools give programming as an elective?

1. Yes

21 vote(s)
    61.8%
  2. No

13 vote(s)
    38.2%
  1. dataset macrumors member

La Mirada, California, United States Of America
    Do you believe that middle schools should offer programming as an elective class?
    I am in middle school and wish there were, although I can see the negative side effect of the cost of a teacher who knows programming well enough.

Well, what do you think?
    and if yes. what language?

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

i wasn't even aware that there were any electives in middle school.

3. Aperture macrumors 68000

Aperture

They'd most likely teach Visual Basic or that thing MIT made.

4. Doctor Q Administrator

Doctor Q

Staff Member

I'm a technology manager for a middle school (one of my hobbies).

We have computer electives, but they are for design, not programming. The students learn to use Illustrator, Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, Fireworks, etc., and I'm quite impressed with how well they do using professional applications like these.

We've had a couple of inquiries about programming, but not much sign of widespread interest.

I'd love to hear what others think, and learn from any experience any of you have.

5. dataset thread starter macrumors member

Visual Basic? That's too bad.. I guess this world is stuck in Windoze land.

Well I'm not sure if all middle schools give electives but mine does for 7th and 8th grade. In my school though you only get to choose your elective in 7th and 8th. This is going to be my first year with the elective I chose.

6. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

gauchogolfer

7. MLeepson macrumors 6502