Should my 2012 cMBP 15'' feel slow?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Star Nuts, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. Star Nuts macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    #1
    It only has 4GB of RAM but I feel like the computer needs to pause and think when dealing with multiple programs. Will upgrading to 8GB of RAM fix this? If not, I'm thinking about returning it for a rMBP.

    Is there a test I can do to see if this is normal?
     
  2. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #2
    Welcome to a 5400RPM Hard Drive.


    SSD all the way.
     
  3. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    What he said.

    HDDs are so slow lol. You need to get an SSD. I recommend Samsung 830, OCZ Vertex 4 and Corsair Force GT/GS Series.

    I would also recommend 8GB or 16GB 1600MHz memory upgrade.
     
  4. hamiltonDSi macrumors 65816

    hamiltonDSi

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Romania
    #4
    Hey guys ! Quick question for you :
    Can my 13" Late 2011 Macbook Pro run RAM at 1600 Mhz ? I now the OS sees 1600Mhz but does it underclock to 1333Mhz or run at the native speed of 1600MHz ?
    I currently have 8GB 1333Mhz but I want to max out this MBP :)
    Also, can I install 16GB like the 2012 models ?
     
  5. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #5
    The ram will only run at system speed save your money
     
  6. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #6
    well it depends on what sort of programs are you running. are you running ram hungry programs?
     
  7. espiritujo macrumors member

    espiritujo

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Location:
    columbia, sc
    #7
    Honestly, I'm on a 7200 rpm HD right now, and my computer still runs pretty quickly. Granted, I know that an SSD will be miles faster, but it still feels like a new computer, even though it technically is (got it a month ago).

    Having said that, maybe investing in 8gb of ram will be suitable for you. If that doesnt work, than an SSD will probably do the trick.
     
  8. sth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    The old world
    #8
    A 7200rpm HDD is a big jump from the standard 5400rpm drive already.

    Not as big a jump as an SSD but big jump nevertheless.
     
  9. mjn298 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    Palisades, Washington, DC
    #9
    4GB is probably insufficient for ML but it's probably the 5400 rpm HDD

    i have a 2012 cMBP 15 that i put 16gb RAM in (overkill for me but whatever eventually it might be useful) and an SSD and it rips through both casual use and audio production (image/video production may be a different story but i don't do that)
     

Share This Page