Should/Will a PCI card work in PCI-X

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by THRobinson, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. THRobinson macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #1
    I asked this earlier but, never a decent answer and a few people asking if I have PCI-X and PCI-Express mixed up which made no sense for what was being asked.

    I have a PCI USB2.0 card rev2.2 that I removed from my old G4 MDD.

    I upgraded to a used G5 2ghz DP (M9032LL/A) system which has "three open full-length PCI-X slots: one 133MHz, 64-bit slot and two 100MHz, 64-bit slots" from what the specs on everymac.com says.

    I was told that a PCI rev2.x card will work in a PCI-X slot but when I tried the system didn't even power on.

    So... should it work? does it matter which PCI-X slot? or was that guy confused between PCI-X and PCI-e?

    Hoping it will work because 3 USB ports isn't enough when you have a WACOM, Scanner, Printer, Mouse, Keyboard, USB Drive, etc...


    Thanks
    :confused:
     
  2. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #2
    Seems like you've answered your own question here...
     
  3. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #3
    How so?

    Just because it didn't work doesn't mean I didn't install it improperly and the pins weren't aligned... if 'should' work I'd give it another try.

    As well, I also asked if it mattered which PCI-X slot since the specs show 2 different speeds of PCI-X.

    ... so... what exactly did I answer again?
     
  4. Bennieboy© macrumors 65816

    Bennieboy©

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Location:
    england
    #4
    Taken from wikipedia
    it might work depends on how old your card is ;)
     
  5. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #5
    Hmm... from what specs I could find on my PCI card it's rev2.2 so 'should' work... I'll have to give it another try. I didn't want to just throw it in and try and fry the board or something... but same time wondered if maybe there was a trick to it.

    For example... I am taking the 9600Pro from my G5 and installing into my G4, but I have to cover pins 3&11 with tape. Thought maybe a 'trick' like that was required. :)

    Thanks Bennieboy
     
  6. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #6
    seems like it should work.

    best of luck.
     
  7. max¥¥ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Over there....
    #7
    yes your card should work in a pci-x slot fine (i have a pci usb card in my pci-x pm g5) older cards won't even fit in your g5 (i have tried it)
     
  8. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #8
    Mine 'fit' but was smaller than the PCI-X slot which is why I wondered if I possible miss-aligned the pins, or if just didn't work... which is why I posted. No use fighting with something not knowing if will ever even work. :)

    I'll give it a try tonight... hope it works simply because, 2 rear USB ports isn't enough considering everything uses USB now, unlike years back when there were printer ports, SCSI ports, comm ports etc.
     
  9. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    Have you tried all 3 slots? If it fits than it should work unless it's incompatible. Strange that it works in the G4 and not your G5 :confused: I know I've had trouble getting VIA chipset cards to work in my Macs but NEC always seem to worked out for me. There are keys in the PCI card so you don't end up putting the wrong one it. Also I don't think that 9600 will fit your G4 if it's an original G5 card, I will if it's a PC flashed graphics card.
     
  10. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #10
    Well, the G4 MDD is all PCI slots, not PCI-X so, just pluged in and worked right away which was nice.

    I do have the NEC though... when I bought it I saw a posting somewhere in passing about VIA vs NEC so made sure to get an NEC chipset. I googled the card model and chip and everything says PCI rev2.2 so, should work.

    I'll try again and try a different slot just in case.

    The video card is an original G5 9600... I posted on here about it and everyone said it will work if I block off pins 3 and 11 (had a link with a step by step). I asked about the extra 3 pins at the end of the card but apparently doesn't matter if they hang off the end on their own because its for the ADC monitor stuff.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=971152

    That was the link, not sure if will work or not...

    If anyone thinks otherwise let me know though. :) Sadly the 9800Pro 128MB card I had in the older G4 fried... so when I got the G5, I ordered a geforce 6800GT 256MB card (still coming) and then I'll stick the 6800GT in the G5, and transfer the 9600Pro into the older G4 so I can sell it. Trying to save money which is why doing the 3&11 pin thing because just want to sell the system, not spend money on it.
     
  11. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #11
    You're right about the 9600. I had the original 9800 Pro in my g5 and that's what I was thinking it wasn't compatible with a G4(physically wouldn't fit).

    I remember reading that thread too. I was gonna post about a 256mb ATI 9800 Pro on ebay. It's very easy to flash on the Mac especially if you have another to set up a VNC client so you can see what you are doing remotely. It even has the nice Arctic Cooling Silencer on it too and it's $70 and free shipping.
     
  12. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #12
    Ah well... 6800GT 256MB is flashed and ready to go. :)

    I debated about self flashing, few nice cards out there that needed a PC to flash with, which I have, but uses PCI-E not AGP.

    Bought a BFG GeForce 6800GS 256MB AGP 8x, flashed it's now a GT because apparently opens up the 4 extra pipelines. New (used only when flashed and tested a few days) so... with it, increasing to 3GB ram and adding 4 more USB ports I think I'll have me a pretty good designing system.

    PC is used for the games and such... my MAC has Adobe CS4 Design Suite installed and that's about it.
     
  13. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #13
    Nope... tried all 3 slots, system won't even tun on, but card is fine, works in the G4 still no problem.

    Does anyone have a PCI USB2.0 card working in a G5 PCI-X (not PCI-E) system?

    If so... can you let me know the make/model? I need to get one but would hate to buy another card only to have it not work as well.

    :(
     
  14. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)
    #14
    Just wanted to update this with 2 things...

    1) Specs online were wrong about my card, looked into it some more and wasn't a 3.3v PCI rev2.2

    2) Found a handy link which also confirms at the top that a PCI card will work in a PowerPC G5 MAC with PCI-X slots

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TA27127?viewlocale=en_US


    :D
     
  15. THRobinson thread starter macrumors member

    THRobinson

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    Zurich, ON (Canada)

Share This Page