Should you throw away your computer?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to Mac Hardware' started by cube, Jul 14, 2017.

  1. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    KEEP THAT AIRDUSTER CAN UP STRAIGHT! Or you'll fry the components with frostbite icw the fluids ...
     
  2. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #3
    Also, do not disassemble the power supply, it can kill you.
     
  3. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #4
    Not when it's powered down and the capacitors are discharged, I've worked on PC PSUs before without an issue. It's not like a CRT TV which has actual high voltage components.
     
  4. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #5
    I meant you should not do it if you're not an expert on it.
     
  5. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    That's assuming that everything is working correctly though. It's certainly not unheard of for people to die from working on faulty PSUs.

    I'm sure you know what you're doing, but keep in mind there's plenty of people who probably don't and shouldn't attempt to repair a PSU.
     
  6. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    This is an AM2+ CPU, so it could work on an AM2 motherboard.

    If this motherboard is AM2+, it could take some AM3 CPUs (not AM3+).
     
  7. cube, Jul 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #8
    A related tip is that some AM2+ motherboards have both DDR2 and DDR3 memory slots. DDR3 can only be used with AM3 CPUs, but these can also use DDR2.

    I think they usually have 2 of each.

    Depending on BIOS support for the CPUs, you can follow an upgrade path like:

    AM2 motherboard, AM2 CPU, DDR2
    AM2+ motherboard, AM2 CPU, DDR2 or AM2 motherboard, AM2+ CPU, DDR2 or AM2 motherboard, AM3 CPU, DDR2
    AM2+ motherboard, AM2+ CPU, DDR2
    AM2+ motherboard, AM3 CPU, DDR2
    [AM2+ motherboard, AM3 CPU, DDR3 if the motherboard has both RAM slots]
    AM3 motherboard, AM3 CPU, DDR3
    AM3+ motherboard, AM3 CPU, DDR3 or AM3 motherboard, AM3+ CPU, DDR3
    AM3+ motherboard, AM3+ CPU, DDR3
    end


    I had a Phenom X3 with an AM2+ motherboard and DDR2 , and upgraded the CPU to Phenom II X6 AM3.
    When the motherboard died, I replaced it with an AM3+ one, and upgraded to DDR3.
    I could upgrade to FX AM3+, but it's probably not worth it.
     
  8. cube, Jul 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #9
    A Phenom X4 9550 is going for $15 including worldwide shipping on eBay.

    What complete computer can you buy for that?
     
  9. cube, Jul 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #10
    The cheapest complete PC advertised with COA that I could find on eBay would be $60 straight buy excluding shipping (Vista Business).

    Q8200, which would be about 5% faster than X4 9550.

    I think the free PC should have the Vista COA, so it might be worth an upgrade of 33% CPU power.

    Although a Vista COA is pretty much worthless, as the OS does not even get security updates anymore.

    In that case, a nice and cheap Q6600 system without OS would be $40. A Phenom II X4 B97 system would cost the same and be about 50% faster.
     
  10. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #11
    It would seem that AMD CPUs are cheaper to buy when new and would hold their value better.
     
  11. cube, Jul 16, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #12
    Minimum system requirements

    Windows 7:

    - 1 GHz x86 CPU
    - 1 GiB RAM
    - DX9 graphics with WDDM 1.0 driver
    - 16 GB hard drive

    Ubuntu:

    - 700 MHz CPU
    - 512 MiB RAM
    - XGA graphics
    - 5 GB hard drive
     
  12. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #13
    Besides security, Windows 7 should normally run better than XP and Vista.
     
  13. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #14
    If you have a 64-bit CPU and you're performing a fresh install of Windows, it is better to use the 64-bit version. A fresh install would be required again to upgrade Windows from 32-bit to 64-bit later.

    In this case, the minimum published requirement for Windows 7 increases to 2GiB RAM and 20GB storage. But the machine can run a bit faster in general, and it will not be limited to 4GiB RAM.

    Some people have run Windows 7 with less than the official RAM requirements, but you might lack memory in certain scenarios.
     
  14. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  15. cube, Jul 17, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #16
  16. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #17
    Windows 8 also stopped receiving security updates like Vista and previous, you need to upgrade to 8.1 .
    So if you installed the 64-bit version and your machine does not support 8.1, you will need perform a fresh install of the 32-bit version before upgrading to keep the same hardware.
     
  17. cube, Jul 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #18
    Things to do to upgrade a CPU:

    - Check if the motherboard supports the new one before buying
    - Check if the CPU would be too hot for your case
    - You may need to upgrade the BIOS using the old CPU first
    - If you got a used CPU with a cooler, check that you did not get one that is not enough
    - If you got a used CPU without a cooler, you may need a beefier one that the one you have (check that it fits your CPU socket and your case).
    - Again, the computer might get too hot and you would need bigger or additional fans for the case
    - Again, that might still not be enough and you would need a better case
    - You need to check that the motherboard would be compatible with the new case
    - You need to check that the power supply would be compatible with the new case
    - You need to check that the CPU cooler is not too tall for the new case
    - You need to check that the GPU is not too big for the new case (or that the bracket needs to be replaced)
    - Obviously, you need to check that you can fit all the other stuff that you still want to use

    It may not be worth it to upgrade just the CPU, but many times it is a really cheap good option.

    Your other components might not give you the best performance out of it, but it might not be worth it to optimize for an old and cheap CPU.

    Your system might seem slow because of lack of RAM or having a slow hard drive. But if you add more RAM than what you actually need it will not make the system faster.

    It might not be worth it to upgrade just the CPU if you cannot add enough RAM. That does not mean a CPU upgrade requires more, unless you switch from 32-bit to 64-bit.

    Old stuff can sometimes be more expensive than newer stuff.
     
  18. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  19. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #20
    It is a pity that good and inexpensive X79 motherboards are hard to find.
     
  20. cube, Jul 20, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2017

    cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #21
    $15. Less CPU, 1 GiB more RAM, graphics upgrade.

     
  21. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #22
    Note that for this series, it would be using a Vista driver. Vista drivers many times work with Windows 7.

    Radeon X has Vista drivers, so it might also work. Some people are even using them with Windows 10.
     
  22. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #23
    It is especially important to perform backups if you're going to be using old drives.

    That does not mean new drives cannot fail.
     
  23. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA

Share This Page