Shouldn't iPad2 get Siri? No?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by epicshredder, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. epicshredder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Co
    #1
    iPad2 has even better hardware than the iPhone 4s(more ram), but doesn't get Siri on iOS 5 update? Don't tell me about microphone, iPad has one. And if I've read correctly Siri only works with internet(wifi only?)

    Not really looking for answers, just more complainers!

    Btw: yes apple does make mistakes sometimes, don't tell me I don't need it on ipad2
     
  2. AndyMoore macrumors 6502

    AndyMoore

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    I've heard that whilst the iPad 2 does have the processing power for Siri, it doesn't have the upgraded mic that the new iPhone 4S has.

    It's the combination of this new mic and the A5 processor that enables Sirir to work in a way that Apple is happy with.
     
  3. shstiger2009 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    #3
    First, the iPhone 4S and the iPad 2 both have 512MB of RAM so it's not that it has more.
    Second, I just think they want Siri to be exclusive to the iPhone 4S to create sales and because a phone is more mobile than a tablet. Also, I see a large amount of people using this while driving and doing "on the go" tasks that can't really be done while using a tablet like driving, working out, etc.
     
  4. epicshredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Co
    #4
    Thanks, makes sense, doesn't help mic is on back of iPad

    ----------

    Still pretty sure by reviews saying Internet is needed for Siri, this means wifi. Not like you get wifi on the go anyways, hopefully it works over edge or at least 3G for siris promotional sake.

    Btw, confusion over old iPad and new with ram, same ram in iPhone 4s and iPad 2
     
  5. Merthyrboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #5
    Maybe apple just doesn't want voice control on the ipad. It didn't have the old one either. Just a thought I could be wrong.
     
  6. tiguk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I've seen loads of articles etc saying "why isn't it on the iPad 2?" but I've seen nobody point out the obvious flaw (to me)...

    Siri utilises the iPhone's apps: Weather & Stocks, that aren't on the iPad

    Isn't that a bit of a problem? Easily fixed I know, but it is another reason.
     
  7. darkfiber macrumors 6502a

    darkfiber

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH USA
    #7
    Well they haven't said they weren't going to release Siri on the iPad yet at least. Maybe they want to wait a bit to get more people to buy the iPhone 4S first. Also, I have to wonder if server load will be an issue? If you suddenly made it available to all iPad 2 users would they be able to handle all the traffic since Siri uploads information to the server for processing? Maybe they are waiting until Siri gets out of Beta first and until they can handle the traffic?
     
  8. epicshredder thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    Boulder, Co
    #8
    Yea, was pretty weak when I found out clock, stocks, calculator, weather aren't on iPad OS.
     
  9. haruhiko macrumors 601

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #9
    iPad 2 does not have more RAM than the 4S.
     
  10. Mr. Incredible macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California

Share This Page