Shout out to my old iMac!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DarthMoops, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. DarthMoops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    #1
    I see many threads regarding the new 21.5a & 27s which is great.

    But I don't think I'd trade my 3.5 year "old" C2D 20" running Tiger, not yet anyway. Can't see myself trying to fix something that's not broken. :) It's been running great!

    I did try to future proof it some at purchase time with 2GB RAM, 500GB HD & 256MB video card.

    I wondered if I was the only one on MacRumors running Tiger or older iMac as their primary machine?
     
  2. Thermonuclear macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #2
    I've got a ten year old 400 MHz iMac G3 in the lab. I use it to store weekly backups and as a music player; its speakers are just as good as those in my new iMac. And it runs OS/X 10.4 Tiger, so I also use it for compatibility testing of freshly developed console applications.

    Later this week it will be bumped with a spare 125 GB drive, a spare slot loading DVD player/burner, and a new NV-RAM battery.
     
  3. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    Currently using a 1.83Ghz Core Duo iMac - the one that came before yours :p Running Snow Leopard on it though.

    Won't be using it as my primary machine soon though - ordered a 6-core Mac Pro :p
     
  4. DarthMoops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    #4
    :D Guys! I've got to get at least another 7 years out of this thing!

    I had thought of upgrading to Leopard. But I like to do clean installs of OSes, granted that comes from my Windows experiences but it seems to help avoid troubles later.

    It didn't seem like Leopard was that big a step up from Tiger.*

    *Watches sky for flames... :eek:
     
  5. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    I was more or less forced to upgrade. I needed Java 6. Java 6 is only available from Apple for 32-bit machines with Snow Leopard. Such an arbitrary restriction. Sure I *could* have used the Java alternatives, but I tried and failed multiple times. Forking over the cash was worth any possible further pain in trying to get Java 6 on a Leopard machine.

    [EDIT] Oh, and the ~5Gb of space it freed up was pretty good.
     
  6. bumzo1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    I still have one of those and it's still pretty snappy with a fresh install of SL. I'd probably still be using it but it wouldn't be very happy when I would render out HD video.
     
  7. SuperPathy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Belleville, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Well, I'm still using my Mid-2005 20" iMac 2.0GHz G5! I'm running Leopard. This machine has lasted me exactly 5 years and still runs well, just can't keep up with my needs. I'll retire it on Wednesday when my new 27" Quad i5 iMac arrives!:D Can't hardly wait!!:apple:
     
  8. lotones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #8
    my 800mhz imac on panther still runs reliably too... especially since I installed flashblock :p Seriously, added 2 more years of use...
     
  9. meat popsicle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    #9
    4 year old, duo core 20" imac still going great. I do a bit of work in Aperture with some large files, if it was not for that, I would have no reason to upgrade. But i just pulled the trigger for the new base imac....
     
  10. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #10
    We have the same Imac as the THread Starter but I would suggest to upgrade to 4gb or 6gb ram and install Snow Leopard and your set for another 6 years :p

    Ours runs Aperture like a beast :D
     
  11. Thermonuclear macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    #11
    In addition to my 2000 iMac G3, I've also got a 1995 Power Macintosh 7500 that still runs. It doesn't run often, but when it does it uses a 500 MHz G3 upgrade card and a HUGE (for the time) 4 GB SCSI drive. Thanks to XPostFacto, it has OS/X 10.2 installed. Alas, the 10.2 gcc 3v3 compiler is too buggy to use. But the machine can hold monthly backups that are done via its included 10 Mbps Ethernet.

    It's days are numbered; I'll be dumping it for free on my next Apple Store visit thanks to their no-cost recycling program for all Apple branded hardware.
     
  12. DarthMoops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    #12
    I'll take that under advisement :)

    Thanks all for the responses!
     

Share This Page