show desktop

Discussion in 'macOS' started by toronado455, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. toronado455 macrumors regular

    toronado455

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #1
    Is there a key combination or gesture to hide all windows and show the desktop?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. basher macrumors 6502

    basher

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ USA
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Only if it hasn't a "Volume Up" symbol on it and/or if the standard functions have been enabled via System Preferences > Keyboard, unless the OP has a very old Mac.
     
  5. toronado455, Jul 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    toronado455 thread starter macrumors regular

    toronado455

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #5
    New MBP. F11 has vol down symbol. Looks like I'd need to disable all the special symbol functions in the keyboard prefs in order to assign one to Expose's show desktop function. Not worth loosing all the other special functions. Be better if I could just re-assign the F4 dashboard key to show desktop instead since I don't use dashboard.

    Actually, I don't like the way expose does the show desktop by sliding everything up and making that border around the screen as a temp situation. I'd rather it just be exactly like the normal desktop with all other windows and apps hidden. It seems there used to be a command for that in the old Mac OS.
     
  6. zeemeerman2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #6
    CMD-F3 (Command + Exposé key) in Snow Leopard.
    Don't know about Lion; perhaps it's the same.
     
  7. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    I don't know if this changed in Lion or not, but in Snow Leopard, option + command + click desktop will hide all windows and show the desktop.
     
  8. jive turkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #8
    This still works in Lion.
     
  9. toronado455, Jul 26, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2011

    toronado455 thread starter macrumors regular

    toronado455

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #9
    This is the closest to what I'm wanting, but it doesn't hide Finder windows, so it isn't exactly what I want. But I still greatly prefer it to the Expose method of showing the desktop.
     
  10. mrgraff macrumors 6502a

    mrgraff

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque
  11. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #11
    I've assigned the Finder to Desktop 1 and get to it using Control 1, just like I did in Snow Leopard. Having Finder windows open isn't a problem for me and takes a millisecond to close them if I want to.
     
  12. toronado455 thread starter macrumors regular

    toronado455

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #12
    OMG! Thank you! I use Windows too and I never knew about that.

    I'll give that a try on the Mac.
     
  13. cerberus 12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #13
    To use the F1-F12 keys you simply hold the function key in addition to your desired F-key.

    The function key is in the bottom left hand corner with "fn" on it.
     

Share This Page