Show/Hide Full Path of Files

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by arianartizan, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. arianartizan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #1
    Hi,

    Here is my issue, I needed to see the full path of my folder so I googled it.
    I came across the following below and used it:
    ___________________________________________________________

    $ defaults write com.apple.finder _FXShowPosixPathInTitle -bool YES

    then

    $ osascript -e 'tell app "Finder" to quit'

    Then relaunch the Finder from the dock. To undo:

    $ defaults write com.apple.finder _FXShowPosixPathInTitle -bool NO

    ___________________________________________________________

    Now the issue I have is that I cannot UNDO the command.
    I used terminal to make this happen. Can someone provide me with a quick fix for this? I would like to undo it.

    Thanks
     
  2. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #2
    The undo sequence is the last of the Terminal commands. However, you have to restart the Finder, using the 2nd command "osascript...." again, for the effect to take place.
     
  3. arianartizan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #3
    No Dice

    Benwiggy,

    this is what I keep getting.

    Last login: Wed Jan 2 10:36:51 on ttys000
    Bartlomiej-iMac:~ bartlomiej$ $ defaults write com.apple.finder _FXShowPosixPathInTitle -bool NO
    -bash: $: command not found
    Bartlomiej-iMac:~ bartlomiej$ $ osascript -e 'tell app "Finder" to quit'
    -bash: $: command not found
    Bartlomiej-iMac:~ bartlomiej$
     
  4. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #4
    Don't include the $ at the beginning of the command. The text you pasted already shows the Terminal "prompt". The three commands you need are:
    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.finder _FXShowPosixPathInTitle -bool YES
    
    osascript -e 'tell app "Finder" to quit'
    
    defaults write com.apple.finder _FXShowPosixPathInTitle -bool NO
    If you customize you Finder's Toolbar (right click on it), you can include a drop-down menu item that shows you the Path hierarchy to your current location. You might find that useful/easier if you need to see the path again.
     
  5. arianartizan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #5
    Awesome

    Thank you for that! I didnt realize that I did not need the $ symbol!

    This worked, thanks again!

    Now since I'm here, What is the best way to familiarize myself with Terminal and Applescript? I'm trying to bulk rename a lot of images at once.

    Example:

    Name New Name Location
    01.tif 350k.tif /Users/bartlomiej/Desktop/OUTPUT
    02.tif 700m.tif /Users/bartlomiej/Desktop/OUTPUT
    03.tif 800m.tif /Users/bartlomiej/Desktop/OUTPUT

    Each NEW file name is a different product code.
    The images are the same thing just copied and pasted 3x in this example.

    Any ideas? I purchased File Renamer for Mac and I follow the BASIC instructions to a T and I get nothing. Tells me "invalid file type".

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDjDpcMy2pk

    Any thoughts & ideas? I wanted to use applescript to do this but I believe its far to technical for me to understand as I have never used it before.

    Thanks

    P.S Kinda off topic from the original thread...
     
  6. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #6
    There are a great many web pages devoted to tutorials of "Unix shell scripting", which is what you do in Terminal.
    Terminal commands are very powerful, and single characters are imbued with great meaning. Even a space in the wrong place can prove disastrous! But it's very methodical and logical.
    Use the "man" command in the Terminal to learn more about commands, e.g. "man ls".
    Generally, shell commands follow this structure:
    command -flags [arguments] file1 file2 ... file26
    with a possible further file or folder on the end where things are going.

    AppleScript is more "English", but with that comes the ambiguity of language. For instance "the count of items" and "the number of items" are two different things.

    Not sure I understand the video: From what I can see, everything worked, didn't it?
     
  7. arianartizan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    #7
    Thanks

    I will be looking into that which you mentioned!
    As for the program it turns out there was a glitch or something and they sent me an updated version. No issues anymore!

    Thanks again!
     

Share This Page