Show timecode in Canvas question

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by 4God, Apr 16, 2007.

  1. 4God macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #1
    I did a search and didn't find anything, so here it goes:
    I've seen a couple of people using Final Cut that have the timecode
    showing in the canvas window. I don't mean those little overlays, I mean
    like the example used in the "Coen's" video on Apple's site. You can go here
    to see what I mean. I've tried using the filters (Timecode Generator
    and Timecode Reader) but that's not quite it. Anybody got ideas?
    Is it some 3rd party thing or am I just missing something? Any help
    would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    The timecode (and keycode if it's coming from film) is "burned in" (recorded onto) the video image when the tapes are made.


    Lethal
     
  3. 4God thread starter macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #3
    Yeah, but I used to use this feature when I had a Canopus setup.
    You could toggle on/off the timecode display in the "canvas" window
    and it would show even during editing/playback. I'm looking for a similar
    feature that I've seen others use while editing DV/HDV. :)
     
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    That might have been something specific to Canopus then. AFAIK the only way to get TC in the Canvas window of FCP is using the "timecode overlay" feature.


    Lethal
     
  5. 4God thread starter macrumors 68020

    4God

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    My Mac
    #5
    Well, dang. Maybe it'll be a new feature in Final Cut 6.
    I just thought I had seen it used before, as in the example above.
     

Share This Page