ShowCase

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mrwamck, Oct 28, 2015.

  1. mrwamck macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    Have an iPad 2, iPad 3 and iPad Air 2 and ShowCase works on the iPad 2 and iPad 3 but
    when installed on the iPad Air 2 I can't start Cydia. It just blinks. Removed ShowCase and
    now Cydia works. Is this known? Anyone have any ideas?

    William
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    William, are you on iOS 8.x on any of those devices?

    I ask, because as of iOS 9 there's no longer any need for Showcase. iOS 9 displays uppercase/lowercase in it's stock form.

    For that reason, showcase has not been updated to work with iOS 9.
     
  3. mrwamck thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
     
  4. mrwamck thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    Ok Thanks, and no I'm on 9.0.2 on all devices. Crazy that it worked fine on iPad 2 and 3 and as
    it worked on these I thought I'd install it on the Air 2.
    Thanks again!
    William
     
  5. tateu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #5
    Some stuff changed in iOS9 that causes the need for tweaks that hook into 32 bit processes (Cydia) on 64 bit devices (iPad Air 2) to be recompiled with a different segment size.

    They do not need to be recompiled for 32 bit devices (iPad 2, 3) and work as is. Old versions also work, as is, when hooking into 64 bit processes (most iOS stock apps and newer App store apps) on 64 bit devices.
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    for your iOS 9 devices, to get ShowCase functionality:

    Navigate to settings -> general -> accessibility -> keyboard -> enable "show lowercase keys"
     

Share This Page