Resolved SHSH Question

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pod5g, May 19, 2013.

  1. pod5g, May 19, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013

    pod5g macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #1
    I have a jailbroken iPod touch 3G on 5.1.1. Cydia says I have blobs for 4.1 and 5.1.1. How do I have blobs for 4.1? I received my iPod with 3.1.x. I then updated straight to 4.2.1. Again, I updated from 3.1.x to 4.2.1. How did I have SHSH blobs for 4.1? My iPod was never on 4.1.
     
  2. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    You don't have to be on the firmware to get the blob. You just gotta save it while apple is signing it. Cydia automatically tried to save them for you.
     
  3. pod5g thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #3
    Oh, now I get it. Thanks for the reply!
     
  4. BumpyFlatline, May 19, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013

    BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    No problem. Although Cydia tries to save them, you should ALWAYS use a tool to manually save them, whether you use tiny umbrella or redsnow. Just make sure to manually save them just to be safe.
     
  5. pod5g thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    #5
    Don't need to. The iPod touch 3G can't upgrade to iOS 6 and 5.1.1 has been jailbroke, so my iPod will be jail broken for life. By the way, I have no plans to jailbreak my iPod touch 5G (on 6.1.2) and I have already updated my iPad to 6.1.3, which cannot be jailbroken.
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    To add to what bumpyflatline said, everytime you open cydia, that's when cydia attempts to get the SHSH blob for your device from apple (which is why some people have SHSH blobs on cydia's server and others have little or none)
     

Share This Page