shutdown during installation

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jiblett1000, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. jiblett1000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #1
    Hello, while trying to install a copy of XP into my intel mac running leopard, it repeatedly shuts down. After getting to a certain point in the installation (using boot camp), my computer gives no warning or message or anything and shuts down. A lot of threads have said that an OEM copy does not make a difference, but that is the only possible reason that I can think of. Does anyone have any insight into this?
     
  2. sanford macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, USA
    #2
    As far as I know, an OEM copy *can* make a difference. If it's an OEM copy that's just like a retail copy, no problem. If it's an OEM copy that's a bunch of CABs access by a hardware-specific installer, it won't work.

     
  3. jiblett1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #3
    damn

    damn, i think it is a hardware specific copy. That sucks
     
  4. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #4
    Don't forget it also needs to be a SP2 disk as well.
     
  5. Siron macrumors 6502

    Siron

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    That's not correct. I installed an OEM version of XP Business with absolutely no problems. The only difference between OEM and Retail is that Retail has the 32 and 64 bit versions on the disk and you can call MS for technical support (OEM - your on your own). I think it has to be the SP2 version I don't think SP1 will work (which could be the FPs problem if he didn't purchase it recently) .
    Alan

    Edit
    Sorry sanford I just re-read your post and what you're saying (I think ) is that an OEM copy that came with say a Dell or HP, will not install as it's configured for the hardware on that specific machine.
    Edit
    I see that Cromulent has edited his reply (SP1 to SP2 - right)?
     
  6. jiblett1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #6
    Is sp2

    yeah, it says it's sp2, but it's still connected to the hardware I guess, so it's a bust.
     
  7. jiblett1000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    #7
    Omg

    OMG! I just bought a 100% authentic version of xp home edition and my computer is still shutting down during installation. What the hell do i do now?!
     

Share This Page