shutter count question

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by PfEMP1, Feb 20, 2016.

  1. PfEMP1 macrumors newbie

    PfEMP1

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #1
    Hey there. I have decided after upgrading to a D610 that it's time to sell my trusty Nikon D200. I toyed with the idea of keeping it as a back up, but i've decided to sell it to help towards the costs of a new lens or decent tripod....or possibly both!

    I went to check the shutter count (or image number in the case of Nikon) and the Exif states i'm at 8433. I bought the camera second hand in 2010 and i'm pretty sure the count was 7000-ish back then and there's no way I've only taken 1500 or so shots since then. I also checked my new camera (brand new purchase) and I'm already at 1200. Was a bit surprised at that as I only got in December, then i remembered i'd been playing with the time-lapse etc.

    Is there anyway for the shutter count/image number to fail? The camera works great otherwise and no signs of problems, but if the shutter count is off, I'm just wondering if there is a problem after all?

    Anyone come across this?
     
  2. Moakesy macrumors regular

    Moakesy

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It's not something I check often, only when I come to sell a camera. 1,500 does seem very low count since 2010. Is there no way you could be mistaken with what the count was when you first got it?
     
  3. PfEMP1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PfEMP1

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #3
    I went back and checked some of my older images from 2010 and they are numbered in the 7000's. So something is not registering the image number properly.
     
  4. Alexander.Of.Oz macrumors 68000

    Alexander.Of.Oz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I know with Canon cameras that once you reach 9999, they reset to 0000 for the next image. Maybe that's what has happened here too.
     
  5. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    AFAIK Image Number isn't shutter count, image number will reset every card format or roll over every 10,000 shots if set to "continuous" file numbering, that has been common to the Canon and Nikon models I have come across. Shoot a jpeg and upload it to one of the many shutter-count websites and see what that says, I'd suggest your file numbering has rolled over back to 1, possibly more than once.
     
  6. bhtwo, Feb 21, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016

    bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #6
    Hmmm... I can't view my shutter use... tried Exif viewer and PS file info.

    ?

    In Preview I have an image number?

    Edit again... looks like that''s it... 5,457!
     
  7. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #7
    I don't know about this model in specific, but in all the digitals I've owned, there have been circumstances that would reset the image count. Often, there's a setting to do that. In some, reformatting the memory card was enough. Another had a faulty battery/supercap for the system memory - any time I replaced the main battery pack I had to re-set the time, the counter went back to zero, and the other settings returned to their defaults.

    So in short, whatever the reason... I don't think any prospective buyer would think that the image counter would be an accurate gauge of how you used your camera. It's not like a car's odometer, which is government regulated.
     
  8. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #8
    Upload a jpeg to one of the shutter count websites, a lot quicker than hunting for it, unlike the image number it can be hidden in the exif - and Ive not known any way to reset the shutter count except by changing a main logic board in the camera, image number can be reset, rolls over at 10k etc etc...
    --- Post Merged, Feb 21, 2016 ---
    Image number isnt shutter count
     
  9. bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #9
    According to MyShutterCount it is.
     
  10. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #10
    If you have taken less than 10k they will be the same number, image number will roll back due to the number of digits available in the filename, shuttercount doesnt.
     
  11. PfEMP1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PfEMP1

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #11
    I can easily view image number from the Exif info (flickr, preview, exifinfo etc) and for the D200 it all shows 8433. I tried looking at the number for images i took on a borrowed D800 - that was 17,200. So that suggests it doesn't reset when it reaches 9999.

    Firmware or electronics on the camera have not been altered whilst I've owned it.

    As for shutter count/Image number. All the info I have found so far says Nikon calls shutter count the image number.

    Whilst it can be argued that shutter count/image number is not the same as a cars mileage, I've found many people ask for shutter count and at the moment, I have a buyer specifically asking me for it. The only potential problem is that the value I can give him, is lower than I believe it to be.
     
  12. mofunk macrumors 68000

    mofunk

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Americas
    #12
  13. bhtwo, Feb 22, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016

    bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    #13
    File info on Pixelmator calls shutter count (NEF)
     
  14. bhtwo macrumors 6502a

    bhtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford UK
  15. PfEMP1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PfEMP1

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #15
    I have tried those, and whilst they all give me the number 8433, it doesn't add up as i have taken more than 1500 images since 2010. The values for my D610 add up - as I said in the original post I had forgotten that i'd played around with time lapse, so of course that contributes to shutter counts.

    From the comments here it seems no one else has come across a shutter count reporting lower than the real value.
     
  16. Raw Right Away macrumors newbie

    Raw Right Away

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    #16
    Could you provide an NEF file to look at?
     
  17. Laird Knox macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #17
    By default the D800 resets the count for each memory card used. This may be turned off, resulting in the value you saw.

    https://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2556/~/image-file-name/-numbering-sequence
     
  18. PfEMP1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    PfEMP1

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #18
    I'm away at the moment, so don't have access to my own computer, but will upload an image when I get a chance.

    The EXIF data gave the value 17, 200, not the DSC/image file number.
     
  19. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #19
    i have a D200 that i have as a spare now. it's at 24k+ so yes, the counter does not reset at 9999.
     
  20. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #20
    From what I can tell, open up the NEF file in Preview, and check out the Inspector under Nikon.

    Screen Shot 15.png
    Note that Nikon sometimes resets Shutter Count if they service the camera. Firmware updates can also reset this value.
     

Share This Page