shutting off EDGE...need some help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nitinleew, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. nitinleew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #1
    anyone know how to shut off edge so it doesnt auto matically update...
    i have att and an unlocked iphone...so i need to shut off edge so i dont get charged for data plan...please help
    i cant update to 1.1.1 i understand u can shut off edge on that mod....i know there might be software out there to shut off
    edge..i only need to use the wifi application.....

    thanks
     
  2. LSUtigers03 macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #2
    Boss Prefs gives you the option to turn EDGE off.
     
  3. Linuss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
  4. rioja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
  5. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Yea, what's wrong with just turning on Airplane mode?
     
  6. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
  7. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #7
    Because maybe they still want to receive calls? And you can't use Wi-Fi in Airplane mode, can you?
     
  8. Marvin1379 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    yes you can. Turn on airplane mode then turn on wifi. It will keep the cellular radios off.
     
  9. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Oh. I guess I didn't understand the OP totally. :D I thought they wanted to use it like a iTouch. But yea, WiFi you can.

    In BossPrefs, turning off Edge will still have the icon aparently.
     
  10. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #10
    there really needs to be an option where you can turn off edge not just 3G, or turn off all data services to conserve battery.
     
  11. illidian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #11
    This is true.
     
  12. Marvin1379 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #12
    there is. Go into settings and turn on airplane mode. It will turn off all radios.
     
  13. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #13
    if you don't want to be charged for data, you can just not use data at all? then you won't be charged for data. i mean i have other phones on my at&t plan that are connected to edge all the time and i don't get charged for data...because i don't use any data

    although if there is a flaw in my relatively simple plan, let me know
     
  14. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #14
    Some apps talk with servers, so if you didn't realize that you'd get hit with a charge. :rolleyes:
     
  15. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #15
    oh well. i suppose. it's still a shame to use an iphone without a data plan. Might as well get an ipod touch.
     
  16. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #16
    Google Maps, Mail, Weather are three apps that use the internet for a kick off!
     
  17. LAS22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Location:
    808
    #17
    another vote for boss-perfs. and yes, still shows 'E' icon, but if you check usage under settings > general, cellular data network should not increment, or stay at 0 if you reset statistics.
     
  18. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #18
    you can't use those without a data plan, so i dont know how he would expect to use them without a data plan. Unless he wants to access it via wi-fi, in that case it won't take data off edge if he's connected to wi-fi.
     
  19. NiroshanMan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #19
    I mean for just turning off data, like edge and 3G so you only use it for making calls.
     
  20. 8CoreWhore macrumors 68020

    8CoreWhore

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Big D
    #20
    Data can be considered "off" if you are not using your browser or google maps, etc. If you are not requesting data, you are not using data, and therefor not using extra battery and you're not getting charged for data.
     

Share This Page