Sierra bricked my Mac

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by atlchamp, Jun 19, 2016.

  1. atlchamp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #1
    decided to go back to El Capitan. Simply erased hard drive. Repartitioned it. Tried to go into recovery mode. Gets stuck on the wireless selection page. Can't move forward then an -2002F error comes up. Called AppleCare. They couldn't do anything for that other than trying an SMC reset. Genius appt scheduled today. Please proceed with caution when installing Sierra looks like something is wrong there.
     
  2. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #2
    Not bricked, but I understand the reaction :)

    It's probably nothing more than a bug in Sierra Recovery OS. I guess that you simply erased the macOS startup volume without destroying the slice that was given to Recovery OS.

    How to Reset NVRAM on your Mac - Apple Support

    – begin with that (it'll do no harm) and then use Internet Recovery. If your Mac's firmware is too old for Internet Recovery then please write again.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    That error is usually because you are trying to use a wifi security method not supported from Internet recovery. Try just turning off the wifi security (no password and open) and try again.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314
     
  4. eww7633 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #4
    If you don't want to spend all that time downloading multiple GB's, just wait for your reservation. They can reinstall using a USB drive or off their wired network, it'll be much faster.
     
  5. atlchamp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    ATL
    #5
    That definitely did not work
     
  6. ajay96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #6
    Happened to me when i was downgrading back to El Capitan. I just had to make another USB with the El Capitan installer and use it to boot. The El Capitan installer was just replaced with the Sierra one, and you can't use internet recovery with that yet I guess.
     
  7. navaira macrumors 68040

    navaira

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    #7
    What worked for me (Sierra wouldn't even finish starting up on my Air, both with clean and dirty install) was booting to Recovery and restoring from Time Machine backup. Say what you want about Time Machine but this is magic. My system is exactly how it was before I formatted the drive to give Sierra a test ride.
     
  8. DaveOP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Correct me if I am wrong, but Internet recovery downloads the OS that came with your machine from the factory. Since no Macs have shipped with Sierra, it will never download that from Internet Recovery (unless I am not understanding your post correctly)
     
  9. RednBlue, Jul 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2016

    RednBlue macrumors member

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #9
    Had a very similar experience. Beta 2 appeared to install faultlessly on my '2015 MBPR...looked good and all seemed to work well on first tries - even 2008 MS Word and Excel! Turned machine off, and when turning on later nothing but white folder in the middle of a black screen. After several re-tries tried to do internet recovery but same as above - very slow internet link and spinning globe for several hours. Gave up on that and went to local Apple Store for re-installation of El Cap and they couldn't get it to reboot - tried all the various resets to no avail and they have now kept my MBP to investigate further!! Be warned.
     
  10. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #10
    It sounds like a hardware problem, coinciding with (not caused by) use of software.
     
  11. RednBlue macrumors member

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #11
    Very possibly just an unfortunate coincidence. In any case, although Sierra looked good during the brief period I had it running, I'll give it a miss for a while after I get my machine back!
     
  12. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #12
    Just get yourself an installer on USB. You can buy a Mac from the Apple Store, create an installer from it, even clone the new Mac's drive, and then return the machine to the store within 14 days.
     
  13. RednBlue macrumors member

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #13
    Can't I do that from my MBP when it comes back from the Apple Store repaired and with a fresh clean El Cap installation?
     
  14. ajay96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    #14
    Yeah Just download it from the App Store and make a bootable USB.
     
  15. RednBlue, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016

    RednBlue macrumors member

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #15
    Thanks for that...Done that while I wait for the MBP to come back from the Apple Store.....using an 8 year old MB Air. A lot slower than my MBP, but I'm really liking the look of Mavericks having not used it for several years!
     
  16. maflynn, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016

    maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    Maybe water over the bridge, but many developers and appleseed participants clone their drive prior to installing the beta. I recommend this process as the beta version updates the recovery partition and you may have trouble downgrading. With a cloned drive, you can bring your mac back to the pre-beta state.

    I'm not trying to rub that in anyone's face but maybe consider that in the future.
     
  17. RednBlue macrumors member

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #17
    Fortunately I cloned my MBP with Carbon Copy Cloner before I installed the Beta, so I've got all my working El Cap OS apps and data safe. Unfortunately I couldn't use them when the Sierra beta bombed because the whole system fell over - even the Apple Store couldn't fix it without taking the machine away.
     
  18. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #18
    You couldn't boot up from the external drive?
     
  19. RednBlue macrumors member

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #19
    No...and Mac Store couldn't boot up from an external source either. Suspicions of some sort of hardware failure - fortunately under warranty.
     
  20. shfxyz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    #20
    The same thing happened to my Air.

    Immediately after upgrading it failed to restart and I had to do it manually.

    Now it's "bricked" bricked: can't turn it on, doesn't react, doesn't make noise, doesn't perform the SMC reset as instructed by Apple via phone. I can't even get it to make a sound, let alone restore from web or from external media.

    I'm taking it to be fixed.

    Here's hoping it's just the power button that failed. :(

    EDIT: I just noticed this is months-old topic about the beta. My problem is with the final version released a couple days ago.
     
  21. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #21
    I had those symptoms with something other than an Air. https://gitter.im/trueos/Random?at=57ddee9318291e10487e1ce4 after a few hours the problem disappeared.
     
  22. shfxyz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    #22
    Hmm, that actually makes a lot of sense. Some websites recommend leaving it unattended to drain the battery a bit before performing the SMC reset. I'll leave it unattended over the weekend... Hope it fixes itself!

    Thanks for the reply!
     

Share This Page